International Cycling

Contandor seals expected Route du Sud race victory

2015-06-23 12:25
Alberto Contador wears the leader’s jersey after stage 13 of the Vuelta Espana on September?5, 2014 in Obregon, Spain. PHOTO: gallo

ALBERTO Contador completed his expected victory at the four-day Route du Sud as Frenchman Bryan Coquard won yesterday’s 166 km final stage in a sprint finish.

Giro d’Italia champion Contador had won the race’s queen stage on Saturday — the only stage in which serious time differences could be expected — ahead of Nairo Quintana.

For both Contador and the man he succeeded as Tour of Italy champion, Quintana, were completing their final warm-up race before the Tour de France, which begins on July 4 in Utrecht, Netherlands.

Both caused a surprise by opting to ride the Route du Sud instead of the traditional week-long Tour warm-up events, the Criterium du Dauphine and Tour of Switzerland.

And Contador (32) attacked his 25-year-old rival on the descent into the finish at Bagneres-de-Luchon on Saturday after the pair crested the top of the final climb together.

The 17-second advantage, which included a time bonus, Contador earned then remained the final winning margin.

Tinkoff-Saxo’s Contador will be looking for a third Tour title in July having also won in 2007 and 2009, while Movistar’s Quintana will be aiming to better his second-placed finish from two years ago.

The pair are expected to fight for the Grand Boucle crown alongside the last two Tour winners, champion Vincenzo Nibali and Chris Froome.

— AFP.


1. Bryan Coquard (FRA/EUC) 3hr 42min 18sec

2. Lorenzo Manzin (FRA) same time

3. Leonardo Fabio Duque (COL) s.t.

4. Steven Tronet (FRA) s.t.

5. Angelo Tulik (FRA) s.t.

6. Enrique Sanz (ESP) s.t.

7. Louis Verhelst (BEL) s.t.

8. Julien Duval (FRA) s.t.

9. Armindo Fonseca (FRA) s.t.

10. Anthony Maldonado (FRA) s.t.


1. Alberto Contador (ESP/TCS) 16hr 53min 22sec

2. Nairo Quintana (COL) at 17sec

3. Pierre-Roger Latour (FRA) 41

4. Stéphane Rossetto (FRA) 1:06

5. Eduardo Sepulveda (ARG) s.t.

6. Miguel Angel Rubiano (COL) 1:31

7. Alberto Gallego Ruiz (ESP) 2:08

8. Ricardo Vilela (POR) 3:05

9. Federico Figueiredo (POR) 3:06

10. Julien Loubet (FRA) 3:14


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.