International Cycling

Contador wins in Basque Tour

2014-04-12 18:06
Alberto Contador (AFP)

Madrid - Alberto Contador has won the Tour of Basque Country for a third time on Saturday, confirming the Spaniard's strong return to form with his second title of the year as he prepares for the Tour de France.

The Tinkoff-Saxo cyclist defended the lead he established on the opening day during the race's sixth and final stage, an individual time trial in which he finished second behind winner Tony Martin.

After going a year without a multistage race title, Contador has now won the Tour of Basque Country and last month's Tirreno-Adriatico, along with runner-up finishes at the Tour of Algarve and the Volta a Catalunya.

The five-time Grand Tour winner previously had won this race in northern Spain in 2008 and 2009.

He took control of this edition, the 54th, during the first stage when he broke away from Alejandro Valverde on an uphill climb.

"Of course when you win, it boosts your confidence but you still have to keep working," Contador said.

"It couldn't have gone better for me at the start of this season. I hope to be 100 percent for the Tour (de France)."

Michal Kwiatkowski of Poland finished the race in second place, 49 seconds behind Contador.

Jean-Christophe Peraud of France completed the podium, 1:04 behind Contador.

Valverde entered the day in second place at only 12 seconds behind Contador, but the Movistar cyclist fell to fifth in the final standings, 1:07 back.

Martin, the three-time world time trial champion, won the 26-km leg around Markina in 38 minutes, 33 seconds to claim his second stage win of this year's race after also winning the second leg.

"It feels good," said the Omega Pharma-Quick Step rider.

"I lost some (time trials) before this and my morale was down. So to come in here and win a stage and the (time trial) is really good for me and for my team."

Results from the sixth stage of Tour of the Basque Country, a 25.9km individual time-trial around Markina-Xemein on Saturday:

1. Tony Martin (GER/OPQ) 38min 33sec
2. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) at 0:07
3. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/OPQ) 0:15
4. Simon Spilak (SLO/KAT) 0:16
5. Jean-Christophe Peraud (FRA/ALM) 0:35
6. Tom Dumoulin (NED/GIA) 0:38
7. Ion Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 0:41
8. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 1:02
9. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 1:05
10. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 1:25

1. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) 21h09:11.
2. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/OPQ) 0:49.
3. Jean-Christophe Praud (FRA/ALM) 1:04.
4. Simon Spilak (SLO/KAT) 1:07
5. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 1:07.
6. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 1:56.
7. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) 1:56.
8. Yury Trofimov (RUS/KAT) 2:13.
9. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 2:14.
10. Wouter Poels (NED/OPQ) 2:26


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.