International Cycling

Cimolai takes Paris-Nice stage win

2015-03-14 00:48
Davide Cimolai (Gallo Images)

Rasteau - Davide Cimolai of Italy won the fifth stage of the Paris-Nice, the so-called "Race to the Sun", on Friday, leaving Frenchman Bryan Coquard in his wake in a sprint finish.

World champion Michal Kwiatkowski of Poland retained the leader's yellow jersey, two days from the finish on the French Riviera.

Belgium's Thomas De Gendt led a heroic breakaway a long way from home on the 192.5km ride from Saint-Etienne to Rasteau, but was visibly flagging as he was hauled in and left behind 300 metres from the line.

Cimolai hit the front on the gentle climb to the finish and crossed the line a wheel's length ahead of Coquard in the dash for victory.

Australia's Michael Matthews grabbed third place from French rider Nacer Bouhanni.

Cimolai, 25, who turned professional five years ago, has made an impressive start to the year, having already won the Trofeo Laigueglia, a traditional early season race in Liguria.

"The favourite today was (John) Degenkolb. I tried to position myself not far from him but when I saw Coquard pulling ahead, I made the effort," the Lampre-Merida rider explained.

"I haven't changed anything this season. I've improved year after year by working for others. I arrived in form and worked for (Niccolo) Bonifacio and the flat sprints in the first few days.

"I am fast but I am not as fast as (Andre) Greipel, (Mark) Cavendish or (Marcel) Kittel..."

Saturday's sixth and penultimate stage is a gruelling 180.5km ride from Vence to Nice, with a finish on the celebrated Promenade des Anglais after a series of six hill climbs.

Results on Friday in the fifth stage of the Paris-Nice cycle race, the 192.5km from Saint-Etienne to Rasteau:


1. Davide Cimolai (ITA/LAM) 4hr 12min 09sec, 2. Bryan Coquard (FRA/EUC) same time, 3. Michael Matthews (AUS/ORI) s.t., 4. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA/COF), 5. Jose Joaquin Rojas (ESP/MOV), 6. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/KAT), 7. Matti Breschel (DEN/TIN), 8. Daniel McLay (GBR/BSE), 9. Samuel Dumoulin (FRA/ALM), 10. Sylvain Chavanel (FRA/IAM) all same time

Overall standings

1. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/ETI) 23hr 56min 20sec, 2. Richie Porte (AUS/SKY) at 01sec, 3. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) 03, 4. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 27, 5. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN/AST) 32, 6. Tony Gallopin (FRA/LOT) 38, 7. Rui Costa (POR/LAM) 41, 8. Gorka Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 44, 9. Tiago Machado (POR/KAT) 50, 10. Rafael Valls (ESP/LAM) 51

Read more on:    cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.