International Cycling

Cavendish claims opening stage

2015-05-11 07:23
Mark Cavendish (AFP)

Sacramento - Mark Cavendish clinched the opening stage of the 2015 Tour of California with a strong finishing kick to beat out Peter Sagan and Jean-Pierre Drucker on Sunday.

The Etixx rider fought off all the challengers to take his 10th win of the season and pull on the first leader's jersey of the race which is celebrating its 10th anniversary.

Andrew Talansky, of Cannondale Garmin, was forced to pull out of the race during the stage because of a virus.

Cavendish got some help from teammate Mark Renshaw, who recovered from an earlier crash when he hit a pothole. With Renshaw providing the leadout, Cavendish shot off his wheel forcing Slovakia's Sagan to settle for second.

"We timed it just right," Cavendish said. "When I saw Sagan in the wind I knew I had it."

John Murphy, of the US, finished fourth while Canada's Guillaume Boivin rounded out the top five.

The Tour of California was first held in 2006 and is one of the most important cycling races in North America.

This year's race comprises 13 host cities and eight stages run over a total distance of 1,165 kilometres (724 miles).

The key stages for the overall are expected to be the stage six, 24-kilometre time trial at Big Bear Lake and a gruelling climb to the Mount Baldy finish line the next day.

Sunday's 105-kilometre eighth and final stage from downtown Los Angeles to the Rose Bowl stadium in Pasadena should end with another sprint finish.

Results of the Tour of California after the completion of the first stage on Sunday:

1. Mark Cavendish (GBR/Etixx) 4hr 43min 27secs

2. Peter Sagan (SVK/Tinkoff-Saxo) s.t.

3. Jean-Pierre Drucker (LUX/BMC) s.t.

4. John Murphy (USA/UnitedHealthcare) s.t.

5. Guillaume Boivin (CAN/Optum) s.t.

6. Zico Waeytens (BEL/Giant-Alpecin) s.t.

7. Wouter Wippert (NED/Drapac) s.t.

8. Tyler Farrar (USA/MTN-Qhubeka) s.t.

9. Koen de Kort (NED/Giant-Alpecin) s.t.

10. Danny van Poppel (NED/Trek) s.t.

Overall standings

1. Mark Cavendish (GBR/Etixx) 4hr 43min 17secs

2. Will Clarke (AUS/Drapac) 0:01

3. Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo 0:04

4. Jean-Pierre Drucker (LUX/BMC) 0:06

5. Rob Britton (USA/SmartStop) s.t.

6. John Murphy (USA/UnitedHealthcare) 0:10

7. Guillaume Boivin (CAN/Optum) s.t.

8. Zico Waeytens (BEL/Giant-Alpecin) s.t.

9. Wouter Wippert (NED/Drapac) s.t.

10. Koen de Kort (NED/Giant-Alpecin) s.t.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.