International Cycling

Bouhanni sprints to Dauphine win

2015-06-10 19:07
Nacer Bouhanni (AFP)

Sisteron - French rider Nacer Bouhanni of the Cofidis team won the fourth stage of the Criterium du Dauphine in Sisteron on Wednesday, his second stage victory in the race.

Australia's Rohan Dennis of BMC retained the overall race leader's yellow jersey after the longest stage of the race, a 228km ride from Anneyron, although his team-mate Tejay van Garderen has the same time.

Sprinter Bouhanni, 24, edged out Belgian rider Jonas Van Genechten and Slovenia's Luka Mezgec by just over half a bike's length to follow up his win in Monday's second stage and claim a fifth win of the season.

"I am very happy with my condition. I must have five or six second places since the start of the season but this was also my fifth victory," said Bouhanni, who won the points classification at last year's Giro d'Italia.

"I am gradually getting better ahead of the Tour. Now I am going to work on improving in the mountains with an eye on the Tour de France."

Thursday's fifth stage will follow the 161km route from Digne-les-Bains to Pra-Loup that will also make up the 17th stage of the Tour de France in July.

Results from the fourth stage of the Criterium du Dauphine on Wednesday, a 228km ride from Anneyron to Sisteron:


1. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA/COF) 5h 30 min 53sec, 2. Jonas Van Genechten (BEL/IAM) same time, 3. Luka Mezgec (SLO/GIA) s.t., 4. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/MTN) s.t., 5. Alexei Tsatevich (RUS/KAT) s.t., 6. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/ETI) s.t., 7. Samuel Dumoulin (FRA/ALM) s.t., 8. Tiesj Benoot (BEL/LOT) s.t., 9. Kvin Reza (FRA/FDJ) s.t., 10. Nathan Haas (AUS/CAN) s.t., 11. Bjrn Thurau (GER/BOA) s.t., 12. Bram Tankink (NED/LNL) s.t., 13. Maxime Bouet (FRA/ETI) s.t., 14. Paul Voss (GER/BOA) s.t., 15. Wout Poels (NED/SKY) s.t., 16. Jos Mendes (POR/BOA) s.t., 17. Dennis van Winden (NED/LNL) s.t., 18. Cyril Gautier (FRA/EUC) s.t., 19. Jay McCarthy (AUS/TIN) s.t., 20. Pim Ligthart (NED/LOT) s.t.


1. Rohan Dennis (AUS/BMC) 13h 31 min 30sec, 2. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) same time, 3. Andriy Grivko (UKR/AST) at 4sec, 4. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/AST) 04, 5. Lieuwe Westra (NED/AST) 04, 6. Michele Scarponi (ITA/AST) 04, 7. Rein Taaramae (EST/AST) 04, 8. Gorka Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 05, 9. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 05, 10. John Gadret (FRA/MOV) 05, 11. Benat Intxausti (ESP/MOV) 05, 12. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/ETI) 18, 13. Maxime Bouet (FRA/ETI) 18, 14. David De la Cruz (ESP/ETI) 18, 15. Pieter Serry (BEL/ETI) 18, 16. Peter Kennaugh (GBR/SKY) 23, 17. Simon Gerrans (AUS/ORI) 23, 18. Simon Yates (GBR/ORI) 23, 19. Adam Yates (GBR/ORI) 23, 20. Ivan Santaromita (ITA/ORI) 23

Selected others

21. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) at 35

Read more on:    cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.