International Cycling

Betancur triumphs in Paris-Nice

2014-03-16 19:00
Carlos Betancur (AFP Photo)

Cyclist's horror crash!

2014-03-14 14:29

Watch A serious accident suffered by Irene Aravena, while participating in a cycling competition at 2014 Odesur Games.

Nice - Carlos Betancur became the first Colombian cyclist to win the Paris-Nice race on Sunday following the eighth and final stage.

French champion Arthur Vichot won the stage, raced along the celebrated Promenade des Anglais, which saw several riders, including Portugal's road race world champion Rui Costa, lose their chance of victory in the stage in a pile-up 300 metres from the finish.

Costa was able to remount and cycle gingerly to the finishing line of the 'Race to the Sun' to finish second overall.

Betancur, 24, was winning his first stage race at WorldTour level, although he finished an impressive fifth in last year's Tour of Italy.

"I have received great support from my team-mates while I have held the overall lead," said Betancur, who won two stages during the week.

Betancur, who rides for the French AG2R team, kept a keen eye on Costa throughout the final stage as the Portuguese rider was only 14sec behind him in the overall standings.

The only anxious moment he had vis a vis his main rival was when Costa tried to steal a march on him on the Col d'Eze, the final climb of the stage, but he and his team -- the first French team to have the winner of the race since Swiss rider Tony Rominger won in 1991 -- reeled him in without any great difficulty.

Results and standings of Sunday's 128km eighth and final stage of the Paris-Nice cycling race around Nice:


1. Arthur Vichot (FRA/ 3hr 06min 56sec (average: 41.1 km/h), 2. Jose Joaquin Rojas (ESP/MOV) s.t., 3. Cyril Gautier (FRA/EUC) s.t., 4. Damiano Caruso (ITA/CAN) s.t., 5. Wilco Kelderman (NED/BKN) s.t., 6. Frank Schleck (LUX/TRE) s.t., 7. Tom-Jelte Slagter (NED/GRM) s.t., 8. Carlos Betancur (COL/ALM) s.t., 9. George Bennett (NZL/CAN) s.t., 10. Eduardo Sepulveda (ARG/BSE) s.t.

Final overall standings

1. Carlos Betancur (COL/ALM) 35hr 11min 45sec, 2. Rui Costa (POR/LAM) at 0:14sec, 3. Arthur Vichot (FRA/FDJ) 0:20, 4. Jose Joaquin Rojas (ESP/MOV) 0:21, 5. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN/AST) 0:29, 6. Cyril Gautier (FRA/EUC) 0:31, 7. Stefan Denifl (AUT/IAM) 0:35, 8. Simon Spilak (SLO/KAT) 0:36, 9. Peter Velits (SVK/BMC) 0:39, 10. Tony Gallopin (FRA/LTB) 0:41

Read more on:    paris-nice race  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.