International Cycling

Battaglin wins Giro 14th stage

2014-05-24 17:28
Snow at the Giro d'Italia (AFP)

Oropa - Italian Enrico Battaglin of the Bardiani team won the 14th stage of the Giro d'Italia on Saturday, a 164km mountain run from Aglie to Oropa.

Colombian Rigoberto Uran of Omega Pharma lost ground in the final 11.8km climb with a 6.2percent gradient but holds the leaders' pink jersey.

It was the first stage of this year's Giro in the mountains, ending in the Oropa sanctuary where the late Italian climber Marco Pantani, who died in 2004, produced a memorable performance after being held up with a chain problem on his way to victory in the 1999 edition.

Battaglin, 24, lead a long break-away group to finish ahead of fellow Italian Dario Cataldo with Colombian Jarlison Pantano 0.07sec off the pace in third.

A group of 21 riders had made a break early in the race building up a lead of 9min 15sec, before attacking the final climb with a four-minute advantage.

It was the second Giro stage win for Battaglin who also won a stage last year.

Uran holds a 32sec lead in the overall standings on Australian Cadel Evans, who closed the gap by a further five seconds.

Results from the Giro d'Italia 14th stage, a 164km mountain run from Aglie to Oropa on Saturday:


1. Enrico Battaglin (ITA/BAR) 4hr 34min 41sec (average: 35,8 km/h), 2. Dario Cataldo (ITA/SKY) same time, 3. Jarlinson Pantano (COL/COL) 0:07, 4. Jan Polanc (SLO/LAM) 0:17, 5. Nicolas Roche (IRL/TIN) 0:22, 6. Albert Timmer (NED/GIA) 0:26, 7. Emanuele Sella (ITA/AND) 0:28, 8. Mattia Cattaneo (ITA/LAM) 0:33, 9. Tim Wellens (BEL/LTB) 0:39, 10. Ivan Santaromita (ITA/ORI) 0:54

Selected: 13. Ryder Hesjedal (CAN/GRM) 2:22, 15. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 2:39, 21. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) 2:59, 22. Rigoberto Uran (COL/OPQ) 3:04, 34. Ivan Basso (ITA/CAN) 4:02, 38. Damiano Cunego (ITA/LAM) 4:54, 57. Samuel Sanchez (ESP/BMC) 9:01, 168. Svein Tuft (CAN/ORI) 32:04

Overall standings

1. Rigoberto Uran (COL/OPQ) 57hr 52min 51sec, 2. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) at 0:32sec, 3. Rafal Majka (POL/TIN) 1:35, 4. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/ALM) 2:11, 5. Wilco Kelderman (NED/BKN) 2:33, 6. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 3:04, 7. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) 3:16, 8. Wout Poels (NED/OPQ) 4:01, 9. Pierre Rolland (FRA/EUC) 5:07, 10. Robert Kiserlovski (CRO/TRE) 5:13

Selected: 11. Ivan Basso (ITA/CAN) 6:07, 12. Ryder Hesjedal (CAN/GRM) 6:13, 19. Damiano Cunego (ITA/LAM) 10:32, 25. Samuel Sanchez (ESP/BMC) 16:56

Read more on:    giro d'italia  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.