International Cycling

Aru wins Giro 15th stage

2014-05-25 18:28
Fabio Aru (AP Photo)

Montecampione - Young Italian climber Fabio Aru came home alone to win the Giro d'Italia's 15th stage on Sunday, with Colombian Rigoberto Uran retaining the overall leader's pink jersey.

At the 1665 metre finish at Montecampione, Aru crossed the line with a 21sec gap back to Colombian Fabio Duarte.

The 23-year-old Aru was celebrating his first career success.

Third-place went to his compatriot Mairo Quintana, who made up 20sec on Uran in the standings to lie fifth, 2min40 off the pacesetter.

Uran took fifth in this 225km ride from Oropa to the summit where late Italian climbing specialist Marco Pantani had duelled with Russian Pavel Tonkov on his way to victory in 1998.

Results from Giro d'Italia (Valdengo - Plan di Montecampione, 225 km)

1. Fabio Aru (Italy / Astana) 5:33:05" 2. Fabio Duarte (Colombia / Colombia) +21" 3. Nairo Quintana (Colombia / Movistar) +23" 4. Pierre Rolland (France / Europcar) 5. Rigoberto Uran (Colombia / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +42" 6. Rafal Majka (Poland / Tinkoff - Saxo) +57" 7. Franco Pellizotti (Italy / Androni Giocattoli) +1:08" 8. Daniel Moreno (Spain / Katusha) 9. Ryder Hesjedal (Canada / Garmin) +1:13" 10. Cadel Evans (Australia / BMC Racing) 11. Wilco Kelderman (Netherlands / Belkin) 12. Domenico Pozzovivo (Italy / AG2R) 13. Robert Kiserlovski (Croatia / Trek) 14. Philip Deignan (Ireland / Team Sky) 15. Ivan Basso (Italy / Cannondale) +2:17" 16. Steve Morabito (Switzerland / BMC Racing) 17. Wout Poels (Netherlands / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +3:13" 18. Andre Cardoso (Portugal / Garmin) 19. Alexandre Geniez (France / +3:19" 20. Alexis Vuillermoz (France / AG2R) 21. Jose Herrada (Spain / Movistar) +3:30" 22. Samuel Sanchez (Spain / BMC Racing) +3:39"

Classification from Giro d'Italia after Stage 15

1. Rigoberto Uran (Colombia / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) 63:26:39" 2. Cadel Evans (Australia / BMC Racing) +1:03" 3. Rafal Majka (Poland / Tinkoff - Saxo) +1:50" 4. Fabio Aru (Italy / Astana) +2:24" 5. Nairo Quintana (Colombia / Movistar) +2:40" 6. Domenico Pozzovivo (Italy / AG2R) +2:42" 7. Wilco Kelderman (Netherlands / Belkin) +3:04" 8. Pierre Rolland (France / Europcar) +4:47" 9. Robert Kiserlovski (Croatia / Trek) +5:44" 10. Wout Poels (Netherlands / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +6:32"

Read more on:    giro d'italia  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.