Froome wins Romandie prologue

2013-04-23 18:12
Chris Froome (AFP)

Lausanne - Britain's Chris Froome, the pre-race favourite, on Tuesday won the Tour of Romandie prologue, a 7.4km ride between Chable and Bruson, in a time of 13min 15secs.

The Sky team leader overtook Spain's Dani Moreno - the winner of last week's Fleche Wallonne - in a strong finish and crossed the line six seconds ahead of American rider Andrew Talansky.

Croatia's Robert Kiserlovski, was third, 13 seconds adrift of first place, while Australia's Richie Porte, a Sky team-mate of Froome, was fourth at 15secs.

"It was just seven kilometres but uphill, which is unusual for a prologue," Froome told Swiss television.

"I hadn't raced for a month, since the Criterium International (which Froome won) and I wasn't sure what kind of form I would be in.

"To win the prologue is a good sign and I hope to defend the leader's jersey for as long as possible this week but I know it will be difficult."

Wednesday's first stage is a 176.4km ride from St-Maurice to Renens, just outside Lausanne, with the five-stage race concluding on Sunday.

Froome will be hoping to not only win here but go on like the winners of the past two editions, Australian Cadel Evans and Froome's Sky team-mate Bradley Wiggins, and win the Tour de France in the same year.

Results from Tour de Romandie (Le Chable - Bruson, 7.5 km) on Tuesday:

1. Chris Froome (Britain / Team Sky) 13:15" 2. Andrew Talansky (U.S. / Garmin) +6" 3. Robert Kiserlovski (Croatia / RadioShack) +13" 4. Richie Porte (Australia / Team Sky) +15" 5. Rui Costa (Portugal / Movistar) +16" 6. Thibaut Pinot (France / FDJ) +17" 7. Stef Clement (Netherlands / Blanco) 8. Alejandro Valverde (Spain / Movistar) 9. Tom Danielson (U.S. / Garmin) 10. Wilco Kelderman (Netherlands / Blanco) +18" 11. Moreno Moser (Italy / Cannondale) 12. Carlos Betancur (Colombia / AG2R) +19" 13. David Lopez (Spain / Team Sky) +22" 14. Ruben Plaza (Spain / Movistar) +26" 15. Sylwester Szmyd (Poland / Movistar) 16. Manuele Boaro (Italy / Saxo - Tinkoff) +29" 17. Tony Martin (Germany / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) 18. Janez Brajkovic (Slovenia / Astana) +30" 19. Steven Kruijswijk (Netherlands / Blanco) +31" 20. Alexandr Dyachenko (Kazakhstan / Astana) 21. Steve Morabito (Switzerland / BMC Racing) +32" 22. Gianni Meersman (Belgium / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +33" 23. Rafal Majka (Poland / Saxo - Tinkoff) 24. Tom Dumoulin (Netherlands / Argos) 25. Evgueni Petrov (Russia / Saxo - Tinkoff) 26. Eros Capecchi (Italy / Movistar) +34" 27. Marcel Wyss (Switzerland / IAM Cycling) 28. Tiago Machado (Portugal / RadioShack) 29. Robert Gesink (Netherlands / Blanco) +35" 30. Lieuwe Westra (Netherlands / Vacansoleil)

Read more on:    tour de romandie  |  chris froome  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.