Froome lays down TDF marker

2013-06-06 15:40
Chris Froome (Getty Images)

Valmorel - Chris Froome laid down a Tour de France warning to his rivals as he climbed to victory and claimed the leader's yellow jersey on the fifth stage of the Criterium du Dauphine on Thursday.

The Briton timed his attack to perfection at the end of the 139km ride from Gresy-sur-Aix to Valmorel to beat his main Tour rival, Alberto Contador, into second with American Matthew Busche third.

The Sky rider took over from Australian Rohan Dennis in the leader's jersey with team-mate and another Australian Richie Porte moving into second overall.

Overnight leader Dennis slipped to third overall as he lost almost a minute in the final 2km.

Froome's victory was agony for Busche who was the last man standing from a 15-strong breakaway group that went clear within the first 10km.

Busche looked capable of holding on for the win as he passed Belgian Tim Wellens, who had been the first breakaway rider to make a solo bid for home, in the final 5km.

Alejandro Valverde broke out of the peloton to try to chase him down but made few inroads. Busche's lead was still hovering around the 20sec mark as he approached the final kilometre but Contador, hoping to make up for a poor time-trial showing the previous day, put in a devastating burst.

That blew apart the remnants of the peloton, which by then was only about a dozen strong, but Froome stayed calm on Porte's wheel.

And when the Sky leader finally counter-attacked, there was no stopping him.

He reeled in Contador, who then tried to latch onto the Briton's wheel, before kicking again to overhaul Busche inside the final 200m.

Froome finished four seconds ahead of Contador and now leads Porte by 52 seconds.

Friday's sixth stage takes the riders over 143km from La Lechere to Grenoble before two mountain stages at the weekend.

Stage 5 results from the Criterium du Dauphine (country/team):
1. Chris Froome (Britain / Team Sky) 3:28:39"
2. Alberto Contador (Spain / Saxo - Tinkoff) +4"
3. Matthew Busche (U.S. / RadioShack)
4. Alejandro Valverde (Spain / Movistar) +10"
5. Michael Rogers (Australia / Saxo - Tinkoff) +12"
6. Daniel Moreno (Spain / Katusha)
7. Rein Taaramaee (Estonia / Cofidis)
8. Daniel Navarro (Spain / Cofidis) +21"
9. Richie Porte (Australia / Team Sky) +24"
10. Jakob Fuglsang (Denmark / Astana) +29"
11. Bart De Clercq (Belgium / Lotto) +32"
12. Laurens ten Dam (Netherlands / Blanco)
13. Jesus Hernandez (Spain / Saxo - Tinkoff) +55"
14. Rohan Dennis (Australia / Garmin) +59"
15. Leopold Koenig (Czech Republic / NetApp) +1:10"
16. Kevin Seeldraeyers (Belgium / Astana) +1:19"
17. Stef Clement (Netherlands / Blanco) +1:23"
18. Samuel Sanchez (Spain / Euskaltel) +1:31"
19. Michal Kwiatkowski (Poland / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +1:37"
20. Haimar Zubeldia (Spain / RadioShack)

General Classification:
1. Chris Froome (Britain / Team Sky) 16:08:44"
2. Richie Porte (Australia / Team Sky) +52"
3. Rohan Dennis (Australia / Garmin) +54"
4. Michael Rogers (Australia / Saxo - Tinkoff) +1:37"
5. Daniel Moreno (Spain / Katusha) +1:47"
6. Daniel Navarro (Spain / Cofidis) +1:49"
7. Rein Taaramaee (Estonia / Cofidis) +1:52"
8. Michal Kwiatkowski (Poland / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +1:58"
9. Leopold Koenig (Czech Republic / NetApp) +2:16"
10. Jakob Fuglsang (Denmark / Astana) +2:20"
11. Stef Clement (Netherlands / Blanco) +2:32"
12. Alejandro Valverde (Spain / Movistar) +2:47"
13. Alberto Contador (Spain / Saxo - Tinkoff) +2:49"
14. Laurens ten Dam (Netherlands / Blanco) +3:12"
15. Haimar Zubeldia (Spain / RadioShack) +3:24"
16. Bart De Clercq (Belgium / Lotto) +3:30"
17. Ben Hermans (Belgium / RadioShack) +3:37"
18. Alexandre Geniez (France / FDJ) +3:41"
19. Matthew Busche (U.S. / RadioShack) +3:46"
20. Samuel Sanchez (Spain / Euskaltel) +4:01"

Read more on:    chris froome  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.