Evans leads strong BMC team

2012-06-19 19:49

Paris - Defending Tour de France champion Cadel Evans will head into the 2012 edition of cycling's most prestigious race with five riders in his BMC team who helped him to success last year.

American George Hincapie, German Marcus Burghardt, Frenchman Amael Moinard, Italian Manuel Quinziato and Swiss rider Michael Schar were all present last July as Australian Evans won the Tour.

BMC will this year boast three new recruits in Belgian Philippe Gilbert, American Tejay Van Garderen and Briton Steven Cummings, who replace American Brent Bookwalter and Swiss Steve Morabito, named as substitutes, and Italian Ivan Santaromita.

"We have just one aim: to defend Cadel's title and lead him to the podium in Paris," said John Lelangue, BMC's sporting director.

"Everyone will know clearly what he has to do over three weeks of racing."

The 35-year-old Evans added: "I now know that I can win and my race this year is almost identical to what I did last year.

"We'll have a yet stronger team for this year's Tour."

Hincapie, who will be 39 on June 29 - a day before the Tour starts in Liege, Belgium, will take part in his 17th edition of the Tour de France, currently sharing the record number of participations with Dutch rider Joop Zoetemelk.

BMC team:

Marcus Burghardt (GER), Steve Cummings (GBR), Cadel Evans (AUS), Philippe Gilbert (BEL), George Hincapie (USA), Amael Moinard (FRA), Manuel Quinziato (ITA), Michael Schar (SUI), Tejay van Garderen (USA)

Replacements: Brent Bookwalter (USA), Steve Morabito (SUI)