Daryl Impey wins Basque stage

2013-04-02 18:23
Daryl Impey (Gallo Images)

Sagan sorry for bum pinch

2013-04-02 15:40

Watch a clip of Peter Sagan's apology for his sexist podium bum pinch.

Vitoria - South Africa's Daryl Impey on Tuesday won the second stage of the Tour of the Basque Country but Italy's Francesco Gavazzi, whom he beat in the sprint for the line, took the leader's green jersey.

Spain's Angel Vicioso, who finished third on Monday, filled the same position again on the 170.2km stage from Elgoibar to Vitoria.

The 28-year-old Impey was following up his second stage win in the race last year.

Helped by his team-mates he held on strongly to prevail in the dash for the finish.

Gavazzi replaced Australian Simon Gerrans at the top of the overall standings.

The stage was marked by a solo breakaway by Amets Txurruka with the peloton swooping six kilometres from the line.

Wednesday's third stage takes the riders 164.7km from Vitoria to Trapagaran.

Results Tuesday from the second stage of Tour of Basque Country, a 170km ride from Elgoibar to Vitoria:

1. Daryl Impey, South Africa, Orica-Greenedge, 4 hours, 23 minutes, 31 seconds.
2. Francesco Gavazzi, Italy, Astana, same time.
3. Angel Vicioso, Spain, Katusha, same time.
4. Daniele Ratto, Italy, Cannondale, same time.
5. Dennis Vanendert, Belgium, Lotto-Belisol, same time.
6. Michel Kreder, Netherlands, Garmin-Sharp, same time.
7. Daniele Pietropolli, Italy, Lampre-Merida, same time.
8. Egoitz Garcia, Spain, Cofidis, same time.
9. Maciej Paterski, Poland, Cannondale, same time.
10. Peter Velits, Slovakia, Omega Pharma-Quick Step, same time.

Overall Standings (After 2 of 6 stages):

1. Francesco Gavazzi, Italy, Astana, 8:30:04.
2. Angel Vicioso, Spain, Katusha, same time.
3. Peter Velits, Slovakia, Omega Pharma-Quick Step, same time.
4. Jacob Fuglsang, Denmark, Astana, same time.
5. Nairo Alexander Quintana, Colombia, Movistar, same time.
6. Sergio Luis Henao, Colombia, Sky, same time.
7. Simon Gerrans, Australia, Orica-Greenedge, same time.
8. Richie Porte, Australia, Sky, same time.
9. Rui Costa, Portugal, Movistar, same time.
10. Tejay Van Garderen, United States, BMC Racing, same time

Read more on:    daryl impey  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.