Ciolek wins classic in Sanremo

2013-03-17 19:34
Gerald Ciolek (Photo supplied)

Sanremo - Gerald Ciolek of Germany, riding for South African team MTN-Qhubeka, won the first cycling classic of the season, the Milan-Sanremo, triumphing in a race curtailed by heavy snow.

The poor conditions forced the event to be temporarily halted after 117km.

Organisers elected to restart the race for the final 126.5km from Cogoleto, meaning participants would still need to tackle the succession of hills along the Ligurian coast after proceedings were initially halted after 117km.

Ciolek saw off the pre-race favourite, Slovakia's Peter Sagan, and Swiss star Fabian Cancellara, after the 245km test as the weather shortened the longest race of the season by 53km, crossing the line in 5hr 37min 20sec.

The race had to be stopped initially at Ovada, at the foot of the Turchino climb which had become unmanageable and the racers had to transfer to their buses before matters could resume.

After a six-strong morning breakaway the weather prompted Omega Pharma-Quick Step notably not to resume, scuppering any hopes of a win for Tom Boonen.

The 2011 winner Matthew Goss and Vincenzo Nibali also abandoned the struggle.

The leading group were caught some 30km from the line and Belgian champion Philippe Gilbert chose his moment to launch a challenge before Sylvain Chavanel, Britain's Ian Stannard and Russia's Eduard Vorganov made their own bid at Poggio, 10km out, as they opened up a 27sec lead.

But as the finish line loomed Cancellara, with Sagan on his wheel, went for broke with Ciolek, who just nudged through in the final 30 metres.

"I was on Sagan's wheel - and that was the best place to be," said the 26-year-old German, tasting his first Classic success.

Results from Milano - Sanremo (Milan - Sanremo, 298 km) on Sunday:

1. Gerald Ciolek (Germany / Team MTN) 5:37:20" 2. Peter Sagan (Slovakia / Cannondale) ST 3. Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland / RadioShack) 4. Sylvain Chavanel (France / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) 5. Luca Paolini (Italy / Katusha) 6. Ian Stannard (Britain / Team Sky) 7. Taylor Phinney (U.S. / BMC Racing) 8. Alexander Kristoff (Norway / Katusha) +14" 9. Mark Cavendish (Britain / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) 10. Bernhard Eisel (Austria / Team Sky)

Read more on:    cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.