Cavendish wins fifth Giro stage

2012-05-10 17:42

Fano - Britain's world road race champion Mark Cavendish won the 209km fifth stage of the Giro d'Italia for his second win in this year's race on Thursday.

Lithuanian rider Ramunas Navardauskas retained the overall leader's pink jersey.

Cavendish, 26, shrugged off the deep bruising he suffered to his left side when he crashed at Horsens, Denmark, on Monday to edge out Australian Matt Goss, winner of Monday's stage, Italian Daniele Bennati and South African ace Robert Hunter.

It was Cavendish's sixth win of the season and ninth overall in the Giro, in which he is competing for the fourth time, taking him to 32 stage wins in the major Tours.

Cavendish's task was made easier when several of his major rivals such as Thor Hushovd were dropped from the peloton in the final 30km when the Liquigas team of Ivan Basso upped the pace aided by Czech rider Roman Kreuziger.

Navardauskas, who took the leader's pink jersey in Wednesday's team time-trial, came in with the peloton.

On Friday, the riders have a 210km stage a little more challenging than Thursday's with four climbs, the last 33.5km from the finish.

Results on Thursday from the fifth stage of the Giro d'Italia, a 199km leg from Modena to Fano:

1. Mark Cavendish, Britain, Sky Procycling, 4 hours, 43 minutes, 15 seconds.
2. Matthew Goss, Australia, GreenEdge, same time.
3. Daniele Bennati, Italy, RadioShack-Nissan, same time.
4. Robert Hunter, South Africa, Garmin-Barracuda, same time.
5. Sacha Modolo, Italy, Colnago-CSF Inox, same time.
6. Alexander Kristoff, Norway, Katusha, same time.
7. lia Favilli, Italy, Farnese Vini, same time.
8. Manuel Belletti, Italy, AG2R La Mondiale, same time.
9. Arnaud Demare, France, FDJ-Big Mat, same time.
10. Jonas Aaen Jorgensen, Denmark, Saxo Bank, same time.

Overall Standings (After 5 of 21 stages):

1. Ramunas Navardauskas, Lithuania, Garmin-Barracuda, 14 hours, 45 minutes, 13 seconds.
2. Robert Hunter, South Africa, Garmin-Barracuda, 5 seconds behind.
3. Ryder Hesjedal, Canada, Garmin-Barracuda, :11.
4. Matthew Goss, Australia, GreenEdge, :13.
5. Mark Cavendish, Britain, Sky Procycling, :14
6. Geraint Thomas, Britain, Sky, :16.
7. Manuele Boaro, Italy, Saxo Bank, :19.
8. Christian Vande Velde, United States, Garmin-Barracuda, :26.
9. Joaquin Rodriguez, Spain, Katusha, :30.
10. Alexander Kristoff, Norway, Katusha, same time.