Carrara wins in Luxembourg

2010-06-06 16:33

Luxembourg - Italian Matteo Carrara won the Tour of Luxembourg with Lance Armstrong ending third in the overall standings on Sunday.

The fourth and last stage of the race was won by Spaniard Gorka Izaguirre in a sprint shortened by torrential rain.

Carrara claimed his first major win ahead of 2009 winner Frank Schleck of Luxembourg.

"I'm so happy, it's a beautiful victory, my best victory," the 31-year-old Carrara said.

Armstrong was competing as part of his preparations for the Tour de France.

The 38-year-old Texan, who crashed last month at the Tour of California, next races at the Tour of Switzerland from June 12-20.

The race was neutralized in the last of the local loops in Luxembourg, about 10 kilometers from the finish, allowing riders who were not aiming for the stage victory to join the back of the peloton.

Seven-time Tour de France champion Armstrong didn't take any risk.

"I just wanted to avoid issues, or problems, or crashes, or accident," Armstrong said. "I think we have to make a good progression from here, to Switzerland and the Tour."

The race started under bright skies and six riders broke away after just three kilometers, but the peloton never let the gap increase too much, lagging just 1 minute, 27 seconds behind Carrara.

Results from the Tour of Luxembourg:

Final Stage:

1. Gorka Izaguirre, Spain, Euskaltel, 3 hours, 1 minute, 23 seconds.
2. Serguei Ivanov, Russia, Katusha, same time.
3. Matteo Carrara, Italy, Vacansoleil, same time.
4. Steve Houanard, France, Skil-Shimano, same time.
5. Jimmy Engoulvent, France, Saur-Sojasun, same time.
6. Tiago Machado, Portugal, RadioShack, same time.
7. Said Haddou, France, Bouygues Telecom, same time.
8. Juan Antonio Flecha, Spain, Sky, same time.
9. Eduard Vorganov, Russia, Katusha, same time.
10. Simon Gerrans, Australia, Sky, same time.

Overall Standings:

1. Matteo Carrara, Italy, Vacansoleil, 17 hours, 43 minutes, 21 seconds.
2. Frank Schleck, Luxembourg, Saxo Bank, one second behind.
3. Lance Armstrong, United States, RadioShack, 0:30.
4. Juan Antonio Flecha, Spain, Sky, 0:34.
5. Serguei Ivanov, Russia, Katusha, same time.
6. Bjorn Leukemans, Belgium, Vacansoleil, 0:35.
7. Alexandre Geniez, France, Skil-Shimano, 0:39.
8. Andreas Kloden, Germany, RadioShack, 0:50.
9. Gregory Rast, Switzerland, RadioShack, 0:51.
10. Sandy Casar, France, FDJeux, 0:52.