Cancellara wins Paris-Roubaix

2013-04-07 16:41
Fabian Cancellara (AFP)

Roubaix - Switzerland's Fabian Cancellara of RadioShack won the prestigious Paris-Roubaix Spring Classic for the third time on Sunday.

The winner from 2006 and 2010 took the gruelling 254km "Queen of the Classics" race in a sprint climax ahead of Belgian Sep Vanmarcke.

"At the end it was like roulette," reflected Cancellera on the dash for the line which he claimed by the length of a bike.

The 32-year-old justified his status among the favourites for this 111th edition.

The top two surged clear from Belgian Stijn Vandenbergh and Czech rider Zdanek Stybar, hampered by spectators, in the 'Carrefour de l'Arbre' section of the race.

In third, half a minute behind, came Dutch champion Niki Terpstra, who edged in clear of Belgian Greg Van Avermaet and France's Damien Gaudin.

Cancellera was following up his win in last Sunday's Tour of Flanders.

The 2008 Olympic time trial champion moved up to within one win of the Roubaix win record held jointly by Belgian duo Roger De Vlaeminck and Tom Boonen, the latter missing from Sunday's renewal after his fall last weekend.

After taking time to get his breath back Cancellera added: "I've never known a race as hard as this one today.

"A couple of times I thought it was over then I said to myself 'Roubaix is never finished, the battle never ends'.

"Everything was against us, against our team.

"I don't know how I managed to do it. I gave everything I could, now I've only got one thing on my mind - a holiday!"

Results from the Paris-Roubaix cycling race on Sunday:

1. Fabian Cancellara (SUI/RSH), 254km in 5hr 45min 33sec, 2. Sep Vanmarcke (BEL/BLA) s.t., 3. Niki Terpstra (NED/OPQ) at 31sec, 4. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL/BMC) 31, 5. Damien Gaudin (FRA/EUC) s.t., 6. Zdenek Stybar (CZE/OPQ) 39, 7. Sebastian Langeveld (NED/ORI) 39, 8. Juan Antonio Flecha (ESP/VAC) s.t., 9. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/KAT) 50, 10. Sebastien Turgot (FRA/EUC) s.t., 11. Heinrich Haussler (AUS/IAM) s.t., 12. Bernhard Eisel (AUT/SKY) s.t., 13. Maarten Wijnants (BEL/BLA) s.t., 14. Lars Boom (NED/BLA) s.t., 15. Matti Breschel (DEN/SAX) s.t.

Read more on:    cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.