Boasson Hagen takes stage 3

2013-06-04 15:44
Edvald Boasson Hagen (AFP)
Tarare - Norway's Edvald Boasson Hagen of Team Sky won the third stage of the Tour de France warm-up the Criterium du Dauphine on Tuesday in a sprint finish at Tarare, near Lyon.

Canadian David Veilleux of Europcar, the first-stage winner, kept the overall leader's jersey.

Boasson Hagen beat Australia's Michael Matthews and Belgium's Gianni Meersman to the line at the end of the 167km ride from Amberieu-en-Bugey.

The 26-year-old Boasson Hagen previously won a stage on the Dauphine in 2010 while he also won his home Tour of Norway last month.

Wednesday's fourth stage will be a 32.5km time-trial around the Parc des Oiseaux, near the town of Villars-les-Dombes.

Results from stage 3 of the Criterium du Dauphine (country/team):

1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway / Team Sky) 4:03:32"
2. Michael Matthews (Australia / Orica) ST
3. Gianni Meersman (Belgium / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step)
4. Thor Hushovd (Norway / BMC Racing)
5. Elia Viviani (Italy / Cannondale)
6. Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (South Africa / Argos)
7. Nacer Bouhanni (France / FDJ)
8. Paul Voss (Germany / NetApp)
9. Sylvain Chavanel (France / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step)
10. Francesco Gavazzi (Italy / Astana)
11. Geraint Thomas (Britain / Team Sky)
12. Florian Vachon (France / Bretagne)
13. Tony Gallopin (France / RadioShack)
14. Elia Favilli (Italy / Lampre)
15. Alejandro Valverde (Spain / Movistar)
16. Alexey Lutsenko (Kazakhstan / Astana)
17. Warren Barguil (France / Argos)
18. Alberto Contador (Spain / Saxo - Tinkoff)
19. Bram Tankink (Netherlands / Blanco)
20. Jakob Fuglsang (Denmark / Astana)

Overall Classification (country/team):

1. David Veilleux (Canada / Europcar) 12:00:22"
2. Gianni Meersman (Belgium / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +1:56"
3. Tony Gallopin (France / RadioShack) +1:57"
4. Alejandro Valverde (Spain / Movistar)
5. Warren Barguil (France / Argos)
6. Jakob Fuglsang (Denmark / Astana)
7. Geraint Thomas (Britain / Team Sky)
8. Angel Madrazo (Spain / Movistar)
9. Richie Porte (Australia / Team Sky)
10. Alberto Contador (Spain / Saxo - Tinkoff)
11. Chris Froome (Britain / Team Sky)
12. Dominik Nerz (Germany / BMC Racing)
13. Thomas Rohregger (Austria / RadioShack)
14. Peter Kennaugh (Britain / Team Sky)
15. Jurgen Van den Broeck (Belgium / Lotto)
16. Sylvain Chavanel (France / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step)
17. Samuel Sanchez (Spain / Euskaltel)
18. Rein Taaramaee (Estonia / Cofidis)
19. Christophe Le Mevel (France / Cofidis)
20. Daniel Navarro (Spain / Cofidis)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.