Albasini sprints to stage win

2013-03-07 17:32
Michael Albasini (AFP)

Saint-Vallier - Switzerland's Michael Albasini sprinted to victory on the fourth stage of Paris-Nice cycle race on Thursday, as US rider Andrew Talansky held onto the leader's yellow jersey.

Orica's Albasini streaked clear of the pack to claim the 199.5km stage from Brioude to Saint-Vallier, with Kazakh Maxim Iglinskiy and Peter Velits of Slovakia in second and third.

Garmin's Talansky came home in the same time as the winner in sixth place to preserve the jersey he claimed in winning the previous day's third stage.

VIDEO: Paris-Nice stage 4, highlights

Albasini said he was happy with the win, as it gave him an idea of his form.

"I didn't really know how strong I was coming into Paris-Nice. I hadn't raced since Majorca (in early February) and there's been a lot of snow at home," the 32-year-old told reporters.

"The stage went well. I only lost time in the closing stages on Wednesday. Today I suffered over the bumps but I was able to keep in contact."

Talansky meanwhile praised his team and said it was important now to stay calm. He added that who his main challengers were was unclear but he was mindful of the threat from Tejay Van Garderen and Richie Porte.

Friday's fifth stage takes the riders 176km from Chateauneuf-du-Pape - a favoured holiday destination of medieval popes - to La Montagne de Lure, where the race finishes with a 13.6km-long category one climb.

Results from the fourth stage of Paris-Nice cycle race, a 199.5km run from Brioude to Saint-Vallier on Thursday:


1. Michael Albasini (SUI/Orica) 4hr 55min 41sec, 2. Maxim Iglinsky (KAZ/AST) same time, 3. Peter Velits (SVK/OPQ) s.t., 4. Enrico Gasparotto (ITA/AST) s.t., 5. Diego Ulissi (ITA/LAM) s.t., 6. Andrew Talansky (USA/GRM) s.t., 7. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) s.t., 8. Jens Keukeleire (BEL/ORI) s.t., 9. Andreas Kloden (GER/RSH) s.t., 10. Xavier Florencio (ESP/KAT) s.t.


1. Andrew Talansky (USA/GRM) 19h35:17, 2. Andriy Grivko (UKR/AST) at 0:03, 3. Peter Velits (SVK/OPQ) 0:04, 4. Sylvain Chavanel (FRA/OPQ) 0:04, 5. Gorka Izagirre (ESP/EUS) 0:05, 6. Lieuwe Westra (NED/VAC) 0:06, 7. Richie Porte (AUS/SKY) 0:07, 8. Maxim Iglinskiy (KAZ/AST) 0:13, 9. Jean-Christophe Praud (FRA/ALM) 0:13, 10. Bart De Clercq (BEL/LTB) 0:15.

Read more on:    paris-nice race  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.