Commonwealth Games

SA duo bag long jump medals

2014-07-30 21:40
Zarck Visser (AFP)
Glasgow - South Africa's Zarck Visser and Rushwahl Samaai have claimed silver and bronze respectively in the men's long jump at the Commonwealth Games.

The event was won by England's Gregory Rutherford, who lept to a distance of 8.20m after his third attempt.

Visser could not match the Englishman and had to settle for silver after his 8.12m leap in the second round.

Samaai, who opened with 8.08m, could not improve, despite recording only one illegal attempt.

Commonwealth Games podiums in Glasgow on Wednesday:


Women's 3000m steeplechase
Gold: Purity Cherotich Kirui (KEN)
Silver: Milcah Chemos Cheywa (KEN)
Bronze: Joan Kipkemoi (KEN)

Men's long jump
Gold: Greg Rutherford (ENG)
Silver: Zarck Visser (RSA)
Bronze: Rushwahl Samaai (RSA)

Men's 400m
Gold: Kirani James (GRE)
Silver: Wayde van Niekerk (RSA)
Bronze: Lalonde Gordon (TRI)

Gold: Brianne Theisen-Eaton (CAN)
Silver: Jessica Zelinka (CAN)
Bronze: Jessica Taylor (ENG)


Women's synchronised 10m platform
Gold: Meaghan Benfeito/Roseline Filion (CAN)
Silver: Sarah Barrow/Tonia Couch (ENG)
Bronze: Pandelela Tinong Pamg/Nur Sabri (MAS)

Men's 1m springboard
Gold: Jack Laugher (ENG)
Silver: Matthew Mitcham (AUS)
Bronze: Grant Nel (AUS)

Women's 3m synchronised springboard
Gold: Alicia Blagg/Rebecca Gallantree (ENG)
Silver: Jennifer Abel/Pamela Ware (CAN)
Bronze: Maddison Keeney/Anabelle Smith (AUS)


Men's individual all-around final
Gold: Max Whitlock (ENG)
Silver: Daniel Keatings (SCO)
Bronze: Nile Wilson (ENG)


Women's freestyle -53kg
Gold: Odunayo Adekuoroye (NGR)
Silver: Lalita Lalita (IND)
Bronze: Jill Gallays (CAN) and Mpho Madi (RSA)

Men's freestyle -61kg
Gold: David Trembley (CAN)
Silver: Bajrang Bajrang (IND)
Bronze: Amas Daniel (NGR) and Viorel Etko(SCO)

Women's freestyle -58kg
Gold: Aminat Adeniyi (NGR)
Silver: Sakshi Malik (IND)
Bronze: Tayla Ford (NZL) and Braxton Rei Stone (CAN)

Men's freestyle -97kg
Gold: Arjun Gill (CAN)
Silver: Satywart Kadian (IND)
Bronze: Leon Rattigan (ENG) and Sam Belkin (NZL)

Women's freestyle -69kg
Gold: Dori Yeats (CAN)
Silver: Angele Tomo (CMR)
Bronze: Navjot Kaur (IND) and Hannah Rueben (NGR)


Women's +75kg
Gold: Maryam Usman (NGR)
Silver: Ele Opelege (SAM)
Bronze: Tracey Lambrechs (NZL)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Floyd 'Money' Mayweather v Conor 'The Notorious' McGregor ... who've you got in Saturday's mega fight?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.