McGregor inducted into World Paddle Awards Academy

2018-02-26 18:16
Hank McGregor (Photo Credit: World Paddle Awards)

Durbann - Ten-time World Marathon champion and paddling legend Hank McGregor has been inducted into the World Paddle Awards (WPA) Academy at their awards ceremony held in Silkeborg, Denmark on February 24.

The World Paddle Awards, held annually in Europe, celebrate the remarkable men and women from the world of paddle sports along with their achievements throughout the previous calendar year.

The awards recognise the diversity of people and organisations in the paddling community and honour the hard work they put into the sport.

McGregor, twice a previous winner of the Sportsman of the Year award (2014, 2015), was again one of three finalists nominated to win the 2017 Sportsman of the Year award, recognition of the year's most outstanding male athlete in any paddle sport, which was ultimately won by Peter Kauzer (Slovenia), a three-time Olympian and canoe slalom champion.

Despite losing to Kauzer for the Sportsman Award, McGregor was overwhelmed to have received the ultimate recognition for his achievements when he was inducted into the WPA Academy, an association of the greatest living sporting legends and figureheads in paddling and also received the illustrious Academy Award.

"It really means a lot to me to be recognised for my achievements," McGregor said.

"Winning an award like Most Outstanding Achievement for 2017 in a sport that has around 15 different disciplines was very satisfying.

"Then to be inducted into the Academy was an incredible feeling and to recognised worldwide for competing at the top level for so many years is hugely rewarding.

"I am really honoured and truly humbled by this award."

The Academy Award, given to an outstanding athlete, is not awarded each year but can be awarded to one of the 2017 nominees at the discretion of the WPA Academy.

The stars of this year's awards included:

Academy Award - Hank McGregor (South Africa)

Foundation Award - Dennis Newton (Great Britain)

Junior of the Year - Barbora Dimovova (Czech Republic)

Lifetime Achievement Award - Finn Larsen (Denmark)

Media Professional of the Year - Nina Jelenc (Slovenia)

Sportsman of the Year - Peter Kauzer (Slovenia)

Sportswoman of the Year - Jessica Fox (Australia)

Read more on:    hank mcgregor  |  canoeing

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.