IAAF authorises 8 more Russians to compete as neutrals

2018-07-04 15:16
Lamine Diack (File)

Paris - The International athletics federation (IAAF), which has banned Russia since 2015, announced on Wednesday that it had cleared eight more athletes from the country to compete under a neutral flag.

The only one of the eight to have enjoyed any success at the highest level is Yevgeny Rybakov, a 33-year-old runner, who took third in the 10 000m at the 2012 European Championships.

The panel that grants stainless competitors Authorised Neutral Athlete status has been operating since the 2016 Rio Olympic Games.

With the eight additions, the list for 2018 contains 67 names, but 62 more have been turned down this year by the committee, which says it has received 199 requests since December.

Eight Russian walkers, including 20km world championship runner-up Sergey Shirobokov, had their status revoked in May for attending a training camp run by banned coach Viktor Chegin ahead of the World Team Championships in China.

The IAAF renewed Russia's suspension on March 6.

The body was engulfed in scandal in 2015 when Lamine Diack, its president since 1999, was arrested in France and charged with taking millions of dollars to cover up failed Russian dope tests.

Read more on:    iaaf  |  lamine diack  |  athletics


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

How much of a runner are you?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.