South African Athletics

Wayde van Niekerk questions Team SA's selections

2017-07-25 13:44
Wayde van Niekerk (AP)

Cape Town - Wayde van Niekerk has backed his omitted team-mates from the South Africa squad for next month's IAAF World Championships in London.

On Monday, Athletics South Africa (ASA) confirmed the final 23-strong squad to represent the country at the championships from August 4-13.

As with SASCOC’s Olympic qualification, ASA's qualifying standards are stricter than those set by the world athletics governing body, the IAAF.

Van Niekerk, who memorably took gold in a new world record time in the 400m at last year's Rio Olympics, was joined by rising sprint sensation Akani Simbine in expressing their surprise at the ommission of several of their compatriots.

Those notables who missed out on selection include Henricho Bruintjies (100m)‚ Rynardt van Rensburg (800m)‚ 400m hurdlers Cornel Fredericks and LJ van Zyl‚ and 200m sprinters Alyssa Conley and Justine Palframan.

Van Niekerk and Simbine took to Twitter to voice their concerns.

The South African team to London will consist of 17 men and six women.

23-strong SA team for the IAAF World Championships in London from August 4-13:



Akani Simbine, Thando Roto


Akani Simbine, Wayde van Niekerk, Clarence Munyai


Wayde van Niekerk, Pieter Conradie

10 000m

Stephen Mokoka


April Lusapho, Sibusiso Nzima, Desmond Mokgobu

110m hurdles

Antonio Alkana

Long Jump

Luvo Manyonga, Ruswahl Samaai, Zarck Visser

Shot Put

Oratio Cremona, Jaco Engelbrecht


Rocco van Rooyen

20km walk

Shange Lebogang



Carina Horn


Caster Semenya


Mapaseka Makhanya, Jenna Challenor


Wenda Nel 


Sunette Viljoen

Read more on:    wayde van niekerk  |  athletics


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

How much of a runner are you?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.