South African Athletics

Tannie Ans is the world’s best

2017-11-26 06:02
Wayde van Niekerk and Ans Botha. (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - Sprint coach Ans Botha received a well-earned accolade on Friday night, stepping on stage at the annual International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) Awards ceremony in Monaco.

Botha, who coaches 400m world champion and world record-holder Wayde van Niekerk, was given the prestigious coaching achievement award.

The 76-year-old mentor has capped her lengthy career by making a crucial contribution to Van Niekerk’s progress in recent seasons, after guiding a number of other elite South African athletes during the past 50 years.

Top three selections

Van Niekerk, meanwhile, lost out to high jumper Mutaz Essa Barshim of Qatar for the male athlete of the year award.

After being named alongside fellow South Africans Luvo Manyonga and Caster Semenya as one of the 20 nominees for the men’s and women’s awards, Van Niekerk was shortlisted alongside Barshim and British distance runner Mo Farah.

Aleck Skhosana, the president of Athletics SA, said: “We congratulate everyone who was nominated for the award. That, alone is a tremendous world achievement.

“It’s a great honour to be in the top three selections, even if you don’t bring the trophy home. A special tribute to Tannie Botha, who flew the national flag high following her crowning as the best coach in the world.

“We now call upon her to pass on her knowledge so that we can have more successful athletes and coaches from South Africa. Thank you for the good work".

Meanwhile, Qatari high jumper Mutaz Essa Barshim and Belgium’s heptathlon champion Nafissatou Thiam were named the IAAF’s men’s and women’s athlete of the year on Friday.

Whittled down

World champion Barshim succeeds retired sprint legend Usain Bolt.

He claimed the title from a shortlist comprising Britain’s long distance star Farah and 400m champion Van Niekerk.

Thiam, who won heptathlon gold at the Olympics and the World Championship in London, beat off competition from Ethiopia’s 10 000m Olympic champion Almaz Ayana and Greek pole vault star Ekaterini Stefanidi.

The men’s and women’s finalists were whittled down from an original list of 10 after a vote cast by IAAF council members, fans and fellow athletes.

At the awards ceremony in Monaco, Jamaica’s Bolt was awarded the president’s prize. – Sport24


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

How much of a runner are you?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.