South African Athletics

Phalula wins Joburg race

2014-10-12 13:06
Lebogang Phalula (File)
Johannesburg - Lebogang Phalula has cruised to victory in the fifth and final leg of the Spar Women's 10km Challenge series at the Wanderers in Johannesburg on Sunday.

Phalula crossed the line in thirty four minutes, thirty four seconds (34:34) to win the race ahead of Zimbabwean Rutendo Nyahora and eight-time Soweto marathon champion, Mamorallo Tjoka who finished third to take the last podium spot.

The race started in cool weather conditions with the country's top long-distance runners among the front pack.

A group of eight runners set the pace upfront in the first kilometer. The lead pack whittled down to four runners as the Phalula sisters, together with Tjoka and Nyahora, pulled a few seconds clear.

Lebogang then pushed the pace and launched an attack towards the three kilometre mark, where she took the race lead. She maintained her advantage throughout the race to win comfortably, leaving just over 12 thousand runners behind.

"Today I just ran a clever race because, I knew that towards the last 'kays in Pretoria, Rutendo and Irvette van Zyl caught up to me and I didn't want that to happen again," Lebogang said after the race.

"I told myself that I was going to go flat out from the first kilometres and make sure they didn't catch up with me, not this time.

"Fortunately I did what I had planned and I'm very happy with myself." Diana-Lebo said she particularly enjoyed the race course as well as the cool weather.

"The course was very nice and I really enjoyed it. It was flat and didn't have a lot of hills.

"The weather was also great because I don't like running when it's hot because I struggle a lot, so I was happy when I woke up."

After five races in the Grand Prix series, Diana-Lebo -- who finished fifth on Sunday -- topped the overall log standings and was confirmed the 2014 series champion.

"I'm very happy with my performance today. I was aiming for top five and it did happen," Diana-Lebo said after the race.

"After my injury I was not in good shape, but I put that out of my mind and told myself I would just do my best.

"I'm happy to win the Grand Prix this year and can't wait to get the car."

Rene Kalmer finished the series second on the table, while 2013 champion Mapaseka Makhanya placed third.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Patriotism aside, who do you feel deserved to win the 2017 Laureus Breakthrough of the Year award?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.