South African Athletics

ASA names preliminary World Champs squad

2015-05-18 14:55
Anaso Jobodwana (File)

Johannesburg - Athletics South Africa (ASA) on Monday announced a preliminary 63-member squad for the IAAF World Championships in Beijing from August 22-30.

The list appears to be very ambitious as the number of athletes that have posted world qualifying times this season is closer to 14.

The squad includes Anaso Jobodwana, who set a new South African record in the 200m in the Cayman Islands on Saturday and 5 000m record holder, Stephen Mokoka.

The preliminary team consists of 42 men and 21 women and should be whittled down as some of the athletes fail to meet the qualifying standards.

Among those yet to book her place for the global athletics event is Olympic silver medallist Caster Semenya and Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Andre Olivier.

South Africa sent a squad of 30 athletes to the 2013 IAAF World Championships in Moscow with Johan Cronje returning with the country’s only medal, a bronze in the men’s 1 500m.

Preliminary World Championships squad:


100m: Akani Simbine, Roscoe Engel, Henrico Bruintjies, Gideon Trotter
200m: Akani Simbine, Anaso Jobodwana, Wade van Niekerk, Lebogang Moeng
400m: Wade van Niekerk, Barend Koekemoer, Ofentse Mogawane, Lebogang Moeng
800m: Andre Olivier, Rynhardt van Rensburg
1 500m: Johan Cronje, Dumisani Hlaselo
5 000m: Stephen Mokoka
10 000m: Stephen Mokoka
3 000m steeplechase: Dikotsi Lekopa, Tumisang Monnatlala
110m hurdles: Antonio Alkana, Ruan de Vries
400m hurdles: Cornel Fredericks, LJ van Zyl, Wouter le Roux
High jump: Mpho Links, Chris Moleya
Pole vault: Cheyne Rahme, Eben Beukes, Heinrich Smit
Long jump: Zarck Visser, Ruswahl Samaai
Triple Jump: Khotso Mokoena
Shot put: Orazio Cremona, Jaco Engelbrecht
Discus throw: Victor Hogan, Russel Tucker
Hammer throw: Chris Harmse
Decathlon: Willem Coertzen, Frederich Pretorius
20km Race walk: Wayne Snyman, Lebogang Shange
50km Race walk: Mark Mundell
Marathon: Stephen Mokoka, Lusapho April, Benedict Moeng


100m: Carina Horn
200m: Justine Palframan
400m Justine Palframan, Rorisang Ramonnye
800m: Caster Semenya
100m hurdles: Rikinette Steenkamp, Claudia Heunis
400m hurdles: Wenda Nel, Annerie Ebersohn
Long jump: Lynique Prinsloo, Carla Marais
Triple jump: Patience Ntshungila, Matsie Dikotla, Zinzi Chabangu
Javelin throw: Sunette Viljoen
20km Race Walk: Anel Oosthuizen
Marathon: Rene Kalmer, Mapaseka Makhanya, Christine Kalmer, Tanith Maxwell, Jenna Challenor, Zintle Xiniwe

Read more on:    asa  |  athletics


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

How much of a runner are you?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.