Kemboi sets Soweto record

2012-11-04 14:34

Soweto - Shadrack Kemboi broke the Soweto Marathon record on Sunday, crossing the finish line in two hours, 16 minutes, 28 seconds (2:16:28), and Mamorallo Tjoka bagged an unprecedented seventh title in the women's race.

Running only his second career marathon, Kemboi smashed the previous record of 2:17:19 set by Elijah Mutandiro in 2003.

“I'm so happy to break the record,” said the 26-year-old Kenyan.

“I didn't have a plan for this race, I just kept up with Timothy [Kibet, who finsihed fifth] and followed him and maintained the pace.

“Towards the 33km mark I could feel it was time to break away."

Motlokoa Nkhabutlane was the first South African to finish the 42.2km race, ending second overall in 2:17:11.

Two-time winner Mabhutile Lebopo of Lesotho came third in 2:17:14.

Kemboi and Kibet, who won the inaugural Gauteng Marathon in September, led the pack from the halfway mark and opened a three-minute gap on the chasing group.

The two Kenyans were running neck-and-neck until the 33km mark where Kemboi broke away and took the lead, maintaining it until the end.

Meanwhile, Tjoka, of Lesotho, won the women's race for a record seventh time in 2:45:20.

Isabella Jepchumba of Kenya finished second in 2:46:35 and Naomy Chebongi was third in 2:47:00.

Tjoka said she had a battled in the build-up to the race and was delighted with another victory, having taken a tumble shortly after the halfway stage.

“This year was tough for me because I came in with an injury and I didn't think I would make it this time around,” Tjoka said.

“After falling towards the 25km mark I was heartbroken because the ladies caught up with me, but I got up and kept on going and managed to leave them behind again.”



1 Shadrack Kemboi 2:16:28
2 Motlokoa Nkhabutlane 2:17:11
3 Mabhutile Lebopo 2:17:14
4 Tshidiso Bosiu 2:18:48
5 Timothy Kibet 2:18:59
6 Matela Makhetha 2:19:19
7 Evans Taiget 2:19:26
8 Mazibuko Papi 2:19:45
9 Solomon Soy 2:20:38
10 Moeketsi Mosuhli 2:21:47


1 Mamorallo Tjoka 2:45:20
2 Isabella Jepchumba 2:46:35
3 Naomy Chebongi 2:47:00
4 Tabitha Tsatsa 2:47:30
5 Abeba Toleda 2:48:33
6 Pamela Kipchoge 2:48:45
7 Njeya Paulina 2:49:04
8 Peris Chumba 3:01:28
9 Mpho Mbuzu 3:01:28
10 Lesley Train 3:02:13


  • dmcmr.dhai - 2012-11-04 16:40

    It was a great day on the road, but ASA must get its house in order, providing only water at the finish was just unacceptable

  • The.whiz.777 - 2012-11-08 22:25

    Die Lucozade was reserved for Linkin Park.

  • pages:
  • 1