Kebede wins London Marathon

2013-04-21 13:29
Tsegaye Kebede (AFP)

London - Ethiopia's Tsegaye Kebede and Priscah Jeptoo of Kenya triumphed at a sombre London Marathon on Sunday, as runners paid tribute to the victims of the deadly bomb attacks at the Boston Marathon.

Kebede hunted down 2011 champion Emmanuel Mutai to win the men's race, while Jeptoo surged to victory in the women's event, eight months on from her second-place finish at the London Olympics.

The men's and mass races were preceded by a 30-second silence in memory of the three people killed and around 180 injured in Monday's bombings in Boston, while competitors donned black ribbons in tribute.

After a frenetic start in the men's race, Mutai led Stanley Biwott, Feyisha Lilesa and Ayele Abshero past the 30km mark just 10 seconds outside world-record pace.

Biwott tried to force the issue but Mutai resisted his Kenyan countryman's efforts to break clear and found himself in the lead.
However, he began to flag badly as he approached the Houses of Parliament and Kebede tore past him to cross the line in a time of 2hr 06min 04sec. Mutai trailed in second, with Abshero third.

British Olympic star Mo Farah had helped set the early pace before dropping out, as planned, after an hour.

The 5,000 and 10,000 metres champion at last year's London Games is preparing to compete over the full distance next year and he said he had struggled with some of the specific demands of marathon running.

"The pace is not a problem. The biggest challenge is picking up the right drink and I think I made a mess of it," Farah said.

"I've learnt the biggest lesson of my life, really. If I come here next year and make a mess of it, it'd be hard to deal with, so it's opened my eyes."

Jeptoo, who finished third in last year's race, streaked away from the women's field to claim victory ahead of compatriot Edna Kiplagat and Yukiko Akaba of Japan.

London Olympic champion Tiki Gelana collided with men's wheelchair athlete Josh Cassidy at a drinks station after 52 minutes and the Ethiopian's challenge never recovered.

As Gelana toiled, Jeptoo led a three-woman breakaway that also featured world champion Edna Kiplagat and 2011 Berlin Marathon champion Florence Kiplagat.

Florence Kiplagat slowly fell back and her namesake Edna could not keep pace with Jeptoo either after the 28-year-old ran the 21st mile in a time of five minutes and 11 seconds.

Jeptoo completed the race's final stages alone and raised her arms in triumph as she crossed the finish line in front of Buckingham Palace in a time of 2hr 20min 15sec.

"Today I'm very, very happy. I couldn't believe I could be the winner," Jeptoo said.

"It is a very tough race because everybody who comes here is really prepared."

Australia's Kurt Fearnley took the honours in the men's wheelchair race after pipping Marcel Hug of Switzerland in a sprint for the line.

Britain's David Weir, who was bidding for a seventh London Marathon title, was level with Hug as the leading racers entered the final straight but ultimately finished fifth.

American Tatyana McFadden claimed victory in the women's wheelchair event in a course record time to follow up her success in the equivalent race in Boston.

Earlier, 35 000 runners bowed their heads and observed a moment of reflection in memory of the victims of Monday's devastating twin bomb blasts in Boston.

Organisers have pledged to donate £2 for every finisher to a fund for the Boston victims.

Meanwhile, the police presence along the 42.2km course was increased by 40 percent.

Despite security fears, organisers said 700 000 people had taken to the streets of London to watch the race on a day of blue skies and bright sunshine in the British capital.

US police arrested one suspect in the Boston bombing on Friday after his brother and fellow suspect was killed in a shootout.

Results from the London marathon on Sunday:


1. Tsegaye Kebede (Ethiopia) 2:06:04 2. Emmanuel Kipchirchir Mutai (Kenya) 2:06:33 3. Ayele Abshero (Ethiopia) 2:06:57 4. Feyisa Lilesa (Ethiopia) 2:07:46 5. Wilson Kipsang Kiprotich (Kenya) 2:07:47 6. Stephen Kiprotich (Uganda) 2:08:05 7. Yared Asmerom (Eritrea) 2:08:22 8. Stanley Biwott (Kenya) 2:08:39 9. Hafid Chani (Morocco) 2:09:11 10. Ayad Lamdassem (Spain) 2:09:28


1. Priscah Jeptoo (Kenya) 2:20:15 2. Edna Ngeringwony Kiplagat (Kenya) 2:21:32 3. Yukiko Akaba (Japan) 2:24:43 4. Atsede Baysa (Ethiopia) 2:25:14 5. Meselech Melkamu (Ethiopia) 2:25:46 6. Florence Kiplagat (Kenya) 2:27:05 7. Mai Ito (Japan) 2:28:37 8. Alevtina Biktimirova (Russia) 2:30:02 9. Susan Partridge (Britain) 2:30:46 10. Irvette van Zyl (South Africa) 2:31:26

Read more on:    london marathon  |  athletics

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Patriotism aside, who do you feel deserved to win the 2017 Laureus Breakthrough of the Year award?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.