International Athletics

IAAF Council - who votes?

2016-06-15 13:25
Sebastian Coe (File)

Moscow - The International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) council, which will vote on Friday on whether to re-accept the Russian track and field federation, administers the affairs of the IAAF.

The IAAF Council consists of 27 elected members, including one president, four vice-presidents, one treasurer, one representative from each of the six area groups and 15 individual members.

There is guaranteed minimum of six female members. Each member is elected by the IAAF Congress for a period of four years.

The Council administers the affairs of the IAAF, appoints the general secretary and delegates to IAAF competitions.

It has the power to provisionally elect or suspend a member federation, and to take urgent decisions. It submits a report and a budget to Congress every two years.

It seems highly unlikely that all 27 Council members will vote on Friday.

Russian federation representative Mikhail Butov will not have the right to vote while under-pressure Kenyan member David Okeyo could choose to avoid the limelight.

IAAF Council members:

President (1): Sebastian Coe (GBR)

Senior vice-president (1): Sergey Bubka (UKR)

Vice-presidents (3): Dahlan Jumaan al-Hamad (QAT), Alberto Juantorena (CUB), Hamad Kalkaba Malboum (CAM)

Treasurer (1): Jose Maria Odriozola (ESP)

Members (21): Ahmad al-Kamali (UAE), Nawaf Bin Mohammed al-Saud (KSA), Bernard Amsalem (FRA), Sylvia Barlag (NED), Mikhail Butov (RUS), Pauline Davis-Thompson (BAH), Zhaocai Du (CHN), Nawal El Moutawakel (MAR), Frank Fredericks (NAM), Geoff Gardner (AUS), Roberto Gesta de Melo (BRA), Svein Arne Hansen (NOR), Stephanie Hightower (USA), Abby Hoffman (CAN), Karim Ibrahim (MAS), Victor Lopez (PUR), David Okeyo (KEN), Antti Pihlakoski (FIN), Anna Riccardi (ITA), Adille Sumariwalla (IND), Hiroshi Yokokawa (JPN)

Read more on:    iaaf  |  sebastian coe  |  athletics


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

How much of a runner are you?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.