International Athletics

Wayde, Caster head IAAF Athlete of the Year nominees

2017-10-03 11:00
Justin Gatlin (AP)

Paris - Controversial world 100m champion Justin Gatlin was left off the list of nominees for the IAAF's World Athlete of the Year awards.

Gatlin, who has served two doping bans, was a surprise winner of the 100m in London in August as Jamaican great Usain Bolt bowed out of his top-class career with a disappointing bronze medal.

When the IAAF named on Monday their 10 male and female nominees for the 2017 awards, Gatlin's name was conspicuous by its absence.

It is the first time since 2004 - when Gatlin was also omitted - that the world or Olympic 100m champion has been left off the list.

Gatlin's omission is no surprise, though, as the IAAF changed its rules in 2015 to exclude from its list anyone who has ever been sanctioned for a serious doping offence.

That came after Germany's Olympic discus champion Robert Harting asked for his own name to be removed from the list in protest at Gatlin's inclusion in 2014.

The 2017 list is led by British 10 000m world champion Mo Farah and South Africa's 400m star Wayde van Niekerk.

The women's list includes comeback queen Sally Pearson of Australia, the 100m hurdles champion, and South Africa's Caster Semenya, the winner of the 800m.



Mutaz Essa Barshim (QAT) high jump, Pawel Fajdek (POL) hammer, Mo Farah (GBR) 10 000m, Sam Kendricks (USA) pole vault, Elijah Manangoi (KEN) 1 500m, Luvo Manyonga (RSA) long jump, Omar McLeod (JAM) 110m hurdles, Christian Taylor (USA) triple jump, Wayde van Niekerk (RSA) 400m, Johannes Vetter (GER) javelin


Almaz Ayana (ETH) 10 000m, Maria Lasitskene (RUS - competing as a neutral) high jump, Hellen Obiri (KEN) 5 000m, Sally Pearson (AUS) 100m hurdles, Sandra Perkovic (CRO) discus, Brittney Reese (USA) long jump, Caster Semenya (RSA) 800m, Ekaterini Stefanidi (GRE) pole vault, Nafissatou Thiam (BEL) heptathlon, Anita Wlodarczyk (POL) hammer


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

How much of a runner are you?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.