International Athletics

Flanagan wins NY Marathon crown

2017-11-05 19:49
Shalane Flanagan (AP)

New York - Shalane Flanagan became the first American woman in 40 years to win the New York City Marathon, which went ahead on Sunday just five days after a deadly Manhattan truck attack that left eight people dead.

Flanagan, who not did run this year's Boston Marathon due to a back injury, captured her first major world marathon crown in an unofficial time of 2:26:53.

Kenya's Mary Keitany, who was chasing her fourth consecutive New York victory, settled for second, 61 seconds back, with Ethiopia's Mamitu Daska third in 2:28:08.

At age 36, Flanagan became the first US woman to win on the streets of the Big Apple since Miki Gorman in 1977.

Flanagan, the 2010 New York marathon runner-up, was sixth in last year's Rio Olympic marathon. She was the 10 000m runner-up at the 2008 Beijing Olympics.

After a slow pace in the first half of the race, Keitany took the lead just after the midpoint and surged at 15 miles, shrinking the front pack to nine before slowing the pace once again.

At 21 miles, Keitany, Flanagan and Daska pulled away and at mile 23, Flanagan grabbed the lead for good.

Expanded security lined the route of the world-famous race, which saw an estimated 50 000 runners from more than 125 nations compete over 42.1km across the city streets.

Top finishers on Sunday from the New York City Marathon:

1. Shalane Flanagan (USA) 2hrs 26mins 53secs, 2. Mary Keitany (KEN) 2:27:54, 3. Mamitu Daska (ETH) 2:28:08, 4. Edna Kiplagat (KEN) 2:29:36, 5. Allie Kieffer (USA) 2:29:39, 6. Sara Dossena (ITA) 2:29:39, 7. Eva Vrabcova (CZE) 2:29:41, 8. Kellyn Taylor (USA) 2:29:56, 9. Dianne Nukuri (BDI) 2:31:21, 10. Stephanie Bruce (USA) 2:31:44

Read more on:    new york marathon  |  athletics


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

How much of a runner are you?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.