International Athletics

Van Niekerk beaten in Zurich

2015-09-03 23:10
Wayde van Niekerk (Gallo Images)

Zurich - LaShawn Merritt edged a thrilling finish in the 400 meters at the Weltklasse Zurich Diamond League meet on Thursday, earning partial revenge for losing to Wayde van Niekerk at the world championships last month.

Merritt won in 44.18 seconds, 0.10 ahead of Grenada's Kirani James — who claimed bronze in Beijing — and 0.17 ahead of Van Niekerk, the South African who left his kick too late.

Merritt, world champ in 2009 and 2013 and Olympic champ in 2008, made a great start, and powered past James after 150 meters.

James' second spot was enough to hand him the Diamond Race season title.

World champion Shelley-Ann Fraser-Pryce was one of 15 others who secured Diamond Race titles after the Jamaican won the 100 in 10.93.

Fraser-Pryce was sporting another new hairstyle after clinching a third world championship with her plaits dyed green and a headband of daisies around her forehead. She was back in long braids, and the result was the same for the sprint supremo, who is unbeaten since May.

She finished half a second ahead of Blessing Okagbare after the Nigerian put on a fantastic performance following the disappointment of her last place in Beijing. American Tori Bowie was again third, 0.13 behind Fraser-Pryce.

There were 18 other individual world champions from Beijing competing in Zurich, although the all-star cast didn't include Usain Bolt or Justin Gatlin.

Without that duo, whose intriguing battle dominated the sprints at the worlds, Alonso Edward of Panama won the 200 in 20.03 to take the Diamond Race title. Edward, who was fourth in Beijing, was 0.17 ahead of Rasheed Dwyer. Anaso Jobodwana was third - just as he was at the worlds - 0.21 behind Edward.

Greg Rutherford added the Diamond League trophy to his Olympic, world, and European titles in the long jump. The Briton jumped 8.32 meters to beat America's Marquis Dendy. Fabrice LaPierre of Australia, runner-up in Beijing, cleared a season's best of 8.27 to finish third.

In another highly competitive event, world champion and double European champion Sergey Shubenkov of Russia won the 110 hurdles in 12.98 seconds. Former world champ David Oliver of the U.S. beat Cuban Orlando Ortega to second place and the Diamond Race title, with both finishing 0.16 behind Shubenkov. Jason Richardson, the 2011 world champion, was sixth.

Ivana Spanovic set a new Serbia record of 7.02 meters to win the long jump. She broke her own record, which she set on her way to claiming bronze in Beijing.

Spanovic again shared the podium with American world champion Tianna Bartoletta and Britain's Shara Proctor. Bartoletta leapt 6.97 to secure the Diamond Race title.

Others to claim Diamond Race trophies were Piotr Malachowski (discus), Mutaz Essa Barshim (high jump), Asbel Kiprop (1 500m), Jairus Kipchoge Birech (3 000m steeplechase), Eunice Jepkoech Sum (800m), Zuzana Hejnova (400 hurdles), Nikoleta Kiriakopoulou (pole vault), Christina Schwanitz (shot put), Barbora Spotakova (javelin) and Genzebe Dibaba (3 000m).



1. Alonso Edward (PAN) 20.03
2. Rasheed Dwyer (JAM) 20.20
3. Anaso Jobodwana (RSA) 20.24

1. LaShawn Merritt (USA) 44.18
2. Kirani James (GRN) 44.28
3. Wayde van Niekerk (RSA) 44.35
7. Isaac Makwala (BOT) 45.56

1. Adam Kszczot (POL) 1:45.55
2. Taoufik Makhloufi (ALG) 1:45.62
3. Mohammed Aman (ETH) 1:45.83

1 500m
1. Asbel Kiprop (KEN) 3:35.79
2. Elijah Motonei Manangoi (KEN) 3:36.01
3. Robert Biwott (KEN) 3:36.04

110m hurdles
1. Sergey Shubenkov (RUS) 13.14
2. David Oliver (USA) 13.30
3. Orlando Ortega (CUB) 13.30

400m hurdles
1. Kariem Hussein (SUI) 49.16
2. Rasmus Mägi (EST) 49.37
3. Thomas Barr (EIR) 49.79

3 000m steeplechase
1. Paul Kipsiele Koech (KEN) 8:10.24
2. Jairus Kipchoge (KEN) 8:15.64
3. Evan Jager (USA) 8:18.39

Long jump
1. Greg Rutherford (GBR) 8,32 m
2. Marquis Dendy (USA) 8,32
3. Fabrice Lapierre (AUS) 8,27
6. Godfrey Khotso Mokoena (RSA) 7,73

1. Robert Urbanek (POL) 65,78 m
2. Piotr Malachowski (POL) 65,04
3. Gerd Kanter (EST) 64,38


1. Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (JAM) 10.93
2. Blessing Okagbare (NGR) 10.98
3. Tori Bowie (USA) 11.06

1. Eunice Jepkoech Sum (KEN) 1:59.14
2. Lynsey Sharp (GBR) 1:59.37
3. Fabienne Kohlmann (GER) 1:59.68

3 000m
1. Almaz Ayana (ETH) 8:22.34
2. Genzebe Dibaba (ETH) 8:26.54
3. Senbere Teferi (ETH) 8:34.32

400m hurdles
1. Zuzana Hejnová (CZE) 54.47
2. Sara Petersen (DEN) 54.57
3. Georganne Moline (USA) 54.89
6. Wenda Theron Nel (RSA) 55.82

Long jump
1. Ivana Spanovic (SRB) 7,02 m
2. Tianna Bartoletta (USA) 6,97
3. Shara Proctor (GBR) 6,58

Pole vault
1. Nikoléta Kiriakopoúlou (GRE) 4,77 m
2. Fabiana Murer (BRA) 4,72
2. Yarisley Silva (CUB) 4,72

Shot put
1. Christina Schwanitz (GER) 19,91 m
2. Michelle Carter (USA) 19,12
3. Anita Márton (HUN) 18,42

1. Barbora Spotakova (CZE) 64,31 m
2. Elizabeth Gleadle (CAN) 62,70
3. Kathrina Molitor (GER) 62,43


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

How much of a runner are you?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.