International Athletics

Kenya pick squad for world champs

2015-08-01 20:56
David Rudisha (File)

Nairobi - Kenya have selected a 41-member strong squad for this month's Beijing world championship after the national trials at the Nairobi's Kasarani stadium on Saturday.

The top two athletes of most events during Friday and Saturday's trials were guaranteed automatic qualification with a third slot being decided on a wildcard basis.

Defending champions were guaranteed a position.

Marathon selection was based on major marathon performance.


400m - Joy Zakari, Maurine Chelegat

800m - Eunice Sum, Janeth Jepkosgei

1 500m - Faith Chepng'etich, Nancy Jepkemoi, Viola Lagat

3 000m steeplechase - Hyvin Kiyeng, Roselyne Chepngetich, Virginia Nyambura

5 000m - Viola Kibiwott, Irene Chemutai, Mercy Cherono

10 000m - Vivian Cheruiyot, Betsy Saina, Sally Kipyego

Marathon - Edna Kiplagat, Jemima Jelegat Sumgong, Hella Kiprop, Vaseline Jepkesho.


400m - Elphas Kishoyan

800m - Ferguson Rotich, David Rudisha, Alfred Kipketer

1 500m - Asbel Kiprop, Silas Kiplagat, Elijah Manangoi

3 000m steeplechase - Ezekiel Kemboi, Jairus Birech, Conseslus Kipruto, Brimin Kipruto

5 000m - Edwin Soi, Emmanuel Kipsang, Caleb Mwangangi

10 000m - Geoffrey Kamworor, Bedan Karoki, Paul Tanui

Marathon - Wilson Kipsang, Dennis Kimetto, Mark Korir

Javelin - Julius Yego

Read more on:    kenya  |  athletics


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

How much of a runner are you?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.