International Athletics

Bolt named to Jamaican squad

2014-07-04 09:36
Usain Bolt (AFP)

Kingston - Jamaican sprint stars Usain Bolt and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce were included on Thursday in Jamaica's 68-strong athletics squad for this year's Commonwealth Games in Scotland.

Six-time Olympic gold medalist Bolt and two-time 100m Olympic champion Fraser-Pryce are both expected to compete only in the 4x100m relays. Both missed last weekend's Jamaican championships, the selection meeting for the Commonwealth Games, after requesting medical exemptions.

Under the rules of the Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association (JAAA), top ranked athletes who request medical exemption from the trials can be included in the squad, but must prove their fitness before the games start.

Fraser-Pryce had a string of poor results before submitting her medical certificate, but Bolt, who had earlier indicated along with training partner Yohan Blake that they were not interested, had a change of heart last week and signalled his readiness to compete in Glasgow.

However Bolt, the world record holder in the 100m and 200m, had said he didn't want to take a spot in an individual race from an athlete who earned selection at the trials.

Blake, who didn't race in the trials, is not in the squad.

Multiple World and Olympic champion Veronica Campbell Brown and World and Olympic 200m medalist Warren Weir are also on the team.

Campbell Brown, who pulled out of a Diamond League meeting in Lausanne on Thursday, won the Jamaican 100m title last weekend while Weir was second to up-and-coming sprinter Rasheed Dwyer in the 200m final.

World number one ranked 400m hurdler Kaliese Spencer is included, as are World Indoor triple jump bronze medalist Kimberly Williams and Olympic Games 110m hurdles bronze medalist Hansle Parchment.

In all, 114 competitors in 11 sports will represent Jamaica in Glasgow from July 23 through August 3.

Jamaica Commonwealth Games athletics squad


Veronica Campbell Brown, Kerron Stewart, Schillonie Calvert, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Natasha Morrison, Elaine Thompson, Anneisha McLaughlin, Samantha Henry-Robinson, Novelene Williams-Mills, Christine Day, Stephenie McPherson, Anastacia Le-Roy, Shericka Williams, Shericka Jackson, Natoya Goule, Simoya Campbell, Kimara McDonald, Monique Morgan, Indira Spence, Danielle Williams, Kaliese Spencer, Janieve Russell, Nikita Tracey, Kimberly Williamson, Saniel Atkinson-Grier, Jovanne Jarrett, Chanice Porter, Kimberly Williams, Shanieka Thomas, Danniel Thomas, Kellion Knibb, Vanessa Levy, Natalie Grant and Salcia Slack.


Nickel Ashmeade, Jason Livermore, Kemar Bailey-Cole, Julian Forte, Kimmari Roache, Usain Bolt, Rasheed Dwyer, Warren Weir, Akheem Gauntlett, Rusheen McDonald, Hugh Graham, Edino Steele, Chumaine Fitten, Omar Johnson, Jo-Wayne Hibbert, Ricardo Cunningham, Andrew Riley, Hansle Parchment, Richard Phillips, Roxroy Cato, Leford Green, Annsert Whyte, Darrell Garwood, Demar Forbes, Nicholas Forbes, Nicholas Gordon, Damon McLean, Daniel Lewis, Wayne Northover, O'Dayne Richards, Raymond Brown, Jason Morgan, Chad Wright and Orrin Powell.

Read more on:    usain bolt  |  athletics

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Patriotism aside, who do you feel deserved to win the 2017 Laureus Breakthrough of the Year award?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.