IAAF name award finalists

2011-11-05 09:28

Paris - New Zealand shot-putter Valerie Adams is one of three athletes named as finalists for the IAAF female Athlete of the Year.

According to the website, with just over one week to go to the 2011 World Athletics Gala, the IAAF has named three male and three Female Athletes who are still in contention for the award.    

Adams, 27, threw a whopping 21.24m at this year's world championships in Daegu, South Korea.

The winning margin of 1.19m over great rival Nadzeya Ostapchuk of Belarus was the widest in the history of the event and her personal best and the New Zealand record was the longest throw outdoors for 11 years.

Following a three-week poll, the three male and three female athletes who gathered the most votes are:

Female Finalists:
Valerie Adams, New Zealand
Vivian Cheruiyot, Kenya
Sally Pearson, Australia

Male Finalists:
Yohan Blake, Jamaica
Usain Bolt, Jamaica
David Rudisha, Kenya

The winners of the 2011 World Athlete of the Year Awards will be announced at the 2011 World Athletics Gala, which will take place in Monaco on November 12.