Felix dominates in Beijing

2013-05-21 20:24
Allyson Felix (Getty Images)
Beijing - American sprinter Allyson Felix underlined her dominence in the 200m event for women at the IAAF World Challenge meeting, held at Beijing's Bird's Nest, on Tuesday.

Felix, the Olympic gold medallist for the event in London last year, clocked a time of 22.36 seconds.

In other major events of the evening, former men's 100m gold medallist, Justin Gatlin from the United States, won his event in a time of 9.91 seconds, ahead of compatriot, Michael Rodgers.

Reigning Olympic and world champion in the women's high jump, Anna Chicherova of Russia cleared 2.02 meters to win the event.

The 30-year-old veteran enjoyed a comfortable dominance in the field, securing the title after she leaped over 1.98m.

"I was so glad when I jumped two meters and when I beat 2.02m I was so happy because I think it's good for me at this moment," said the Russian.

"The World Championship is the main point for me and I can say that step by step before the World Championships, all competitions for me are important at this moment."

The South African contingent at the meeting did not fare as well with Robert Oosthuizen finishing fifth in the men's javelin with a throw of 77.59m.

South African long jumper, Khotso Mokoena lept to fourth place in his event with a jump of  7.97m.

The IAAF World Championships is set to take place in Moscow in August.

Collated results of the IAAF World Challenge meeting in Beijing:


Triple jump:

1. Cao Shuo (CHN) 16.72 m

2. Chris Carter (USA) 16.69

3. Karol Hoffmann (POL) 16.57

Long Jump:

1. Li Jinzhe (CHN) 8.31 m

2. Ignisious Gaisah (GHA) 8.13

3. Ngonidzashe Makusha (ZIM) 8.04


1. LaShawn Merritt (USA) 20.40

2. Jeremy Dodson, (USA) 20.62

3. Xie Zhenye (CHN) 20.66

3000m Steeplechase:

1. Hilary Yego (KEN) 8:09.17

2. Brimin Kipruto (KEN) 8:15.19

3. Gilbert Kirui (KEN) 8:15.67


1. Alfred Kirwa Yego (KEN) 1:46.43

2. Edwin Kiplagat Melly (KEN) 1:46.46

3. Nicholas Kipkoech (KEN) 1:47.50

Pole vault:

1. Igor Bychkov (ESP) 5.60 m

2. Vladislav Revenko (UKR) 5.50

3. Yang Yansheng (CHN) 5.40


1. Dmitry Tarabin (RUS) 81.11 m

2. Vitezslav Vesely (CZE) 80.81

3. Ari Mannio (FIN) 80.65

High jump:

1. Wang Yu (CHN) 2.33 m

2. Aleksandr Shustov (RUS) 2.31

3. Zhang Guowei (CHN) 2.25

110m hurdles:

1. David Oliver (USA) 13.16

2. Dwight Thomas (JAM) 13.44

3. Jason Richardson (USA) 13.48


1. Justin Gatlin (USA) 9.91

2. Michael Rodgers (USA) 9.96

3. Su Bingtian (CHN) 10.06


Hammer throw:

1. Tatyana Lysenko (RUS) 73.12 m

2. Eva Orban (HUN) 73.00

3. Wang Zheng (CHN) 71.91

110m hurdles:

1. Kellie Wells (USA) 12.87 m

2. Ginnie Crawford (USA) 13.03

3. Alina Talay (BLR) 13.09

High Jump:

1. Anna Chicherova (RUS) 2.02 m

2. Ana Simic (CRO) 1.95

3. Nadiya Dusanova (UZB) 1.92


1. Allyson Felix (USA) 22.36

2. LaShauntea Moore (USA) 22.85

3. Ebonie Floyd (USA) 23.19


1. Sinta Ozolina-Kovala (LAT) 60.90 m

2. Maria Abakumova (RUS) 60.26

3. Hanna Hatsko (UKR) 59.28


1. Eunice Sum (KEN) 4:04.49

2. Mary Kuria (KEN) 4:05.17

3. Nelly Jepkosgei (KEN) 4:08.59

Long jump:

1. Tori Polk (USA) 6.58 m

2. Funmi Jimoh (USA) 6.55

3. Teresa Dobija (POL) 6.31

Shot put:

1. Liu Xiangrong (CHN) 18.73 m

2. Michelle Carter (USA) 18.70

3. Jeneva McCall (USA) 18.23


1. Blessing Okagbare (NGR) 11.04

2. Mikele Barber (USA) 11.30

3. Ruddy Zang Milama (GAB) 11.32

Read more on:    iaaf  |  khotso mokoena  |  athletics

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Patriotism aside, who do you feel deserved to win the 2017 Laureus Breakthrough of the Year award?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.