Adventure Sport

Kime clinches Dusi title

2013-02-16 14:31
Lance Kime (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - Lance and Robyn Kime ensured a brother-sister double for the first time in Dusi canoe marathon history as they won the individual men’s and women’s races in record times on the final day in Durban on Saturday.

Lance, 21, dashed the hopes of both Andrew Birkett, bidding to win a fourth successive crown, and overnight leader Sbonelo Zondi, who was on track to become the first black paddler to win the race in its 62-year history until he fell out of his boat with 14 kilometres to go.

"It hasn’t sunk in as yet," the exhausted, but jubilant new champion said afterwards.

"I still haven’t had a moment to think about anything.

"I think maybe only when things quieten down this evening will I fully understand what I’ve achieved."

The overall winning time was eight hours and 29 seconds (8:00.29), comfortably inside the previous mark of 8:03.22 done in 2007 by three-time former champion Ant Stott.

Robyn, meanwhile, clinched a fourth straight title after arriving at the finish in 9:07.16 -- crushing the previous record of 9:25.36 set by Abbey Ulansky back in 2007.

Lance’s stage time of 2:15.38 was also a best ever one, surpassing the oldest men's record in Dusi history, that of John Edmonds (2:18.39) from 1991.

The 2005 winner Hank McGregor came second in 8:04.38, while Zondi (8:05.50) finished third despite winning the first two stages of the race on Thursday and Friday.

The 24-year-old, who began the final day with a 68 second lead, saw his advantage quickly whittle as Lance flew past him on the Side Chute Rapid, nine kilometres into the race.

Zondi, though, regained top spot at Burma Road Portage, where he had built a 90 second gap by the top of the hill and was looking well on his way to a historic win by the time they re-entered the water.

"It was a real rollercoaster ride at that stage," Lance said.

"When I got to the top of the hill, Eric (Zondi) had gone from probably 20 seconds behind to almost two minutes in front.

"It was a lot of time to make up on one hill. So I knew it was going to be a very tough task to catch him.

"But you keep that hope in the back of your mind."

However, Zondi took a swim at Pumphouse Weirs, 22km into the 36km final stage and the rest was history, with both Lance and McGregor surpassing him.

"And later on I saw him swimming in the pool right at the bottom of the rapid," Lance said.

"It was heart-breaking for him, but at the same time I probably got the biggest adrenaline rush of my life."

Zondi was nonetheless pleased with his effort -- his first individual podium finish after also ended third in the K2 category last year.

"I’m still really happy to be on the podium today," Zondi said.

"I was very focused after Burma, but I made a mistake at Pumphouse where I nearly lost my boat, my life, my paddle.

"But I managed to recover and I’m glad to have ended where I did."

Birkett, who won two K2 and one K1 title over the past three years, came fourth in 8:09.17, while Thulani Mbanjwa (8:13.11) was fifth.

Robyn lead the race from just before the five kilometre mark and never looked back with her final stage time of 2:36.56 also smashing the previous best time of Ulansky (2:43.08) in 2007 by over six minutes.

"I’m very pleased with this," the 22-year-old said.

"From the start of the second day I knew if I could keep the race together and I would be able to win it again and I managed to do that."

Abby Adie (9:21.30) came second, while Jen Theron (9:40.55) was third.



1.Lance Kime (U23) 2:15.38 8:00.29
2.Hank McGregor 2:17.43 8:04.38
3.Sbonelo Zondi 2:22.07 8:05.50
4.Andy Birkett (U23) 2:19.58 8:09.17
5.Thulani Mbanjwa 2:20.46 8:13.11
6.Ant Stott 2:27.25 8:27.52
7.Jason Graham 2:23.45 8:28.44
8.Cam Schoeman 2:26.02 8:30.59
9.Jacques Theron 2:23.43 8:34.40
10.Zonele Nzuza 2:26.48 8:36.46
11.Siseko Ntondini (U23) 2:25.29 8:38.41
12.Loveday Zondi 2:28.45 8:38.42
13.James Speed (U23) 2:21.40 8:38.47
14.Gavin Shuter (U23) 2:25.53 8:39.06
15.Shaun Rubenstein 2:25.03 8:42.00
16.Lucas Mthalane 2:25.08 8:42.00
17.Mmeli Cele (U23) 2:24.04 8:43.18
18.Murray Starr (U23) 2:30.15 8:43.36
19.Travis Wilson (U18) 2:30.23 8:43.36
20.Nhlanhla Cele 2:25.46 8:44.38

1. Lance Kime 2:15.38 8:00.29
2. Andy Birkett 2:19.58 8:09.17
3. Siseko Ntondini 2:25.29 8:38.41

1.Travis Wilson 2:30.23 8:43.36
2.Damon Stamp 2:32.22 8:51.44

1.Robyn Kime (U23) 2:36.56 9:07.16
2.Abby Adie 2:34.37 9:21.30
3.Jen Theron 2:40.37 9:40.55
4.Hilary Pitchford 2:42.53 9:43.17
5.Bianca Haw (U18) 2:46.07 9:49.07

1.Robyn Kime 2:36.56 9:07.16
2.Jenna Ward 2:50.14 10:40.49
3.Brittany Petersen 2:53.19 10:48.56

1. Bianca Haw 2:46.07 9:49.07
2.Jordan Peek 2:48.59 10:15.49

Read more on:    dusi canoe marathon  |  canoeing

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which of the following floats your Extreme Sports boat?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.