MySport24

TMO made the wrong call

2013-09-02 11:47
Willie Roos (Gallo Images)
At first, Coaches, supporters and players went on and on about the fact that the TMO's should be used on more occasions to assist the referee. IRB went the distance in regards to this matter and gave the TMO's more power to assist the Referee.

Assist - Help (someone), typically by doing a share of the work. (Google)

The one part that everyone seems to miss is the fact that the TMO's isn't in a position to argue with the referee. Neither is he there to correct the referee's wrongs. Figuratively speaking, he is much like a puppet, he answers a question when he is asked a question. In some cases he delivers his opinion. He does not insist. He simply gives his "birds-eye-view" when its asked from him.

He does not have a whistle. He uses the rule book and computer evidence to evaluate what ever he is asked to evaluate, and then give his opinion according to what the rule book states and to what the evidence produced.

Regarding the "yellow card/penalty" try call:

As far as I have it, diving on a player while he's on the ground, is a professional foul, and professional foul's are worthy of either a yellow or a red card. Tick for the card. The fact that De Allende dived on the player while he was reaching for the try line is nothing less than an attempt to stop the player from scoring a try, unfortunately for him, he didn't stay on his feet, regardless of the fact that he'll probably claim that he went for the ball.

A deliberate knock down that stops a try would have had exactly the same call. A deliberate knockdown that simply halted play but had no influence in the scoring of a try, will be worthy of a yellow card only. Right?

So if De Allende dived on the player anywhere else on the field, he would still get the yellow card, and if he didn't stop a try from being scored, there would have been no penalty try. I like to think that this is pretty close to common logic. The only thing Referee Jaco did wrong was the categorizing of his call. He stated that De Allende went in from the side. De Allende had the right to play from any side as there was no ruck formed at that point. So the TMO got that spot on. But this is simply my opinion, based on facts. Allister Coetzee must wipe his tears and move on, if he goes on like this about every controversial decision that doesn't go his way, his players will do exactly the same.

Allister, Water under the bridge my friend. In this case, the Lions where the one's to catch the stream, and Province almost drowned.
 

Read more on:    mysport24
NEXT ON SPORT24X

What To Read Next

 

Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
2 comments
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

 
 
Men
Women
Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Featured

The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

 
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.