Fans back Etzebeth for award

2012-10-24 13:59
Player of the Year 2012 (Gallo Images)

We take a look at the candidates for SA Rugby Player of the Year.

Cape Town - According to Sport24's online poll, Eben Etzebeth should walk away with the SARU Player of the Year award, with his Stormers and Springbok team-mate, Bryan Habana, a close second.

GALLERY: Player of the Year nominees

Eben Etzebeth was the favourite with 30% of a total of 2 561 votes cast, followed by Bryan Habana (23%) with JP Pietersen (11%) in third place.

In our poll Sport24 asked the following:

Which of the 10 finalists in the SARU Player of the Year category deserves the title most?

These were the results:

30% - Eben Etzebeth
23% - Bryan Habana
11% - JP Pietersen
9% - Keegan Daniel
7% - Bismarck du Plessis
6% - Willem Alberts
5% - Elton Jantjies
4% - Siya Kolisi
4% - Pat Lambie
1% - Jannie du Plessis

The 10 finalists for the prestigious SARU Rugby Player of the Year were finalised, following a new public consultation process in conjunction with the votes of rugby media.

The rugby public nominated and voted for players on the Springboks’ Facebook page and will now have a decisive say in determining which of the players will be crowned on November 1, when the SARU Rugby Player of the Year Awards Function is held in Cape Town.

HAVE YOUR SAY: Who do you predict will win this year's SARU Rugby Player of the Year award - and who do you think should win it? Send your thoughts to Sport24.


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.