Verstappen goes from fast to furious to winner in Mexico

2018-10-29 07:48
Max Verstappen (Gallo Images)

Mexico City - Red Bull's Max Verstappen went from fast to furious to winner. Daniel Ricciardo went from pole position to yet another disaster as engine failure doomed his car yet again. 

The Mexican Grand Prix was a wild ride for Red Bull. 

The team came to the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez expecting to challenge Mercedes and Ferrari for the win in the high altitude of Mexico City. 

The 21-year-old Verstappen had dominated practice and looked set to become the youngest driver in Formula One history to win pole position until Ricciardo snatched it away on his final lap. Infuriated, Verstappen returned to the track determined to get the win and defend his 2017 race victory. 

"Amazing," said Verstappen. "To be honest with you, I didn't sleep very well last night." 

The Dutch driver has two wins this season and five podium finishes in the last seven races. It's strong run in a season that began with mistakes that cost him potential victories and drew a reprimand for dangerous driving moves. 

He slammed the door on the victory in Mexico at the start. A furious jump off the line beat Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton to the first corner, and Verstappen was off and running toward an easy race for his fifth career victory. 

Hamilton secured his fifth career championship with a fourth-place finish. He'd said before the race he likely couldn't beat the Red Bulls. 

A poor start and another round of engine failure beat Ricciardo, who has endured a frustrating season. Engine failure has killed his car in six of the last 11 races with two left on the season in Brazil and Abu Dhabi. 

Race day began with such promise for Ricciardo. 

Red Bull's 1-2 start was their first front-row lockout since the start of the hybrid engine era in 2014. Ricciardo's brilliant qualifying lap earned his third career pole position and the first since his victory in Monaco. 

But he got left behind at the starting line and quickly dropped to third. He was in a furious fight to hold off Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel for second until smoke billowed from the back of his car with nine laps to go and he surrendered. 

Ricciardo is leaving Red Bull's Renault engines for the Renault team in 2019. Red Bull will be switching to Honda engines. Pierre Gasly will be taking Ricciardo's place in a promotion from Red Bull's junior team Toro Rosso. 

"This car's cursed," Ricciardo said. "There's two more races. I honestly don't see the point of coming."

Mexico Grand Prix results on Sunday:

1. Max Verstappen (NED/Red Bull) 1hr 38min 28.851sec, 2. Sebastian Vettel (GER/Ferrari) at 17.316sec, 3. Kimi Rikkonen (FIN/Ferrari) 49.914, 4. Lewis Hamilton (GBR/Mercedes) 1:18.738, 5. Valtteri Bottas (FIN/Mercedes) 1 lap, 6. Nico Hlkenberg (GER/Renault) 2 laps, 7. Charles Leclerc (MON/Sauber) 2 laps, 8. Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL/McLaren) 2 laps, 9. Marcus Ericsson (SWE/Sauber) 2 laps, 10. Pierre Gasly (FRA/Toro Rosso) 2 laps, 11. Esteban Ocon (FRA/Force India) 2 laps, 12. Lance Stroll (CAN/Williams) 2 laps, 13. Sergey Sirotkin (RUS/Williams) 2 laps, 14. Brendon Hartley (NZL/Toro Rosso) 2 laps, 15. Kevin Magnussen (DEN/Haas) 2 laps, 16. Romain Grosjean (FRA/Haas) 3 laps


Fernando Alonso (ESP/McLaren), Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP/Renault), Sergio Prez (MEX/Force India), Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/Red Bull)

Drivers standings

1. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) 358 pts - champion, 2. Sebastian Vettel (GER) 294, 3. Kimi Rikknen (FIN) 236, 4. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) 227, 5. Max Verstappen (NED) 216, 6. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) 146, 7. Nico Hlkenberg (GER) 69, 8. Sergio Prez (MEX) 57, 9. Kevin Magnussen (DEN) 53, 10. Fernando Alonso (ESP) 50, 11. Esteban Ocon (FRA) 49, 12. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) 45, 13. Romain Grosjean (FRA) 31, 14. Pierre Gasly (FRA) 29, 15. Charles Leclerc (MON) 27, 16. Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL) 12, 17. Marcus Ericsson (SWE) 9, 18. Lance Stroll (CAN) 6, 19. Brendon Hartley (NZL) 4, 20. Sergey Sirotkin (RUS) 1


1. Mercedes 585 pts, 2. Ferrari 530, 3. Red Bull 362, 4. Renault 114, 5. Haas 84, 6. McLaren 62, 7. Force India 47, 8. Sauber 36, 9. Toro Rosso 33, 10. Williams 7

Read more on:    red bull  |  max verstappen  |  f1

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.