Seven former winners among 33 Indy entries

2017-05-15 11:27
Alexander Rossi (Supplied)

Chicago - Defending champion Alexander Rossi and three-time winner Helio Castroneves are among seven former winners named on Sunday as drivers of the 33 cars entered for the 101st Indianapolis 500.

The IndyCar namesake classic, 200 laps around the 2.5-mile (4km) Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval, will be staged on May 28 with qualifying next weekend.

US racer Rossi took a shock win last year as a rookie, the first Indy 500 newcomer to see the checkered flag since Brazil's Castroneves won his first crown in 2001 and Colombia's Juan Pablo Montoya, the 2015 winner, took his first Indy 500 win in 2000.

Other past champions entered in cars this year include Americans Buddy Lazier (1996) and Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014), New Zealand's Scott Dixon (2008) and Brazil's Tony Kanaan (2013).

Castroneves, whose other triumphs came in 2002 and 2009, will try to become only the fourth four-time Indy 500 winner, joining US legends A.J. Foyt, Al Unser Snr and Rick Mears.

In all, 19 winners of IndyCar events are entered, including defending series champion and season points leader Simon Pagenaud, a Frenchman who carries a 10-point lead over Dixon into the race, and Australia's Will Power, who won his 30th IndyCar title at Saturday's Grand Prix of Indianapolis on the track's road course.

Two-time Formula One champion Fernando Alonso of Spain is among four rookies entered this year, joined by Britain's Jack Harvey, American Zach Veach and Ed Jones of the United Arab Emirates.

Alonso completed his rookie orientation program at the speedway earlier this month while the others will begin their training sessions ahead of Monday's opening practice.

There are 18 Honda-powered entries and 15 with Chevrolet engines.

Among the other drivers linked to cars on Sunday were Britain's Max Chilton, Jay Howard and Pippa Mann and Japan's Takuma Sato.

Read more on:    indy 500  |  alexander rossi


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.