SA's De Villiers wins 2nd stage of Dakar Rally as Alonso loses wheel

2020-01-06 15:42
giniel de villiers
Giniel de Villiers (Getty Images)

Neom - South African driver Giniel De Villiers won the second stage of the Dakar Rally on Monday while former Formula One world champion Fernando Alonso was "glad to be able to continue" after dropping two-and-a-half hours when losing a wheel.

Alonso suffered his first major problem in his maiden Dakar appearance when he ground to a halt when his near front wheel "completely ripped off".

"He said sorry to us, I think he knew it was his fault," Toyota Overdrive boss Jean-Marc Fortin said.

"He had the necessary (equipment) to repair it but he first had to find the wheel because it had careered off into the distance," Fortin reported.

"When they found it, it wasn't round but oval."

The 38-year-old Spaniard had downplayed his prospects of creating history by becoming the first F1 world champion to win the Dakar in the run up to Sunday's start of the 42nd edition.

And realistically his chances now of reaching the podium look remote after just two days of the gruelling 7,500 kilometre desert odyssey.

When he finally made it across the finish line Alonso cut a relaxed figure, despite the wheel drama which he put down to being blinded by dust thrown up by cars ahead of him.

"When you come on the Dakar you come for all the hazards it entails, today was one of them. I'm glad to be here and to be able to continue the rally," said the 2005 and 2006 F1 champion.

His Toyota teammate De Villiers, who lost 23 minutes when he finished 14th in Sunday's opening stage, bounced back strongly over the 401 kilometre-route, of which 367km were a special between Al-Wajh and Neom.

Many drivers had navigational problems and De Villiers took advantage of a mistake by long time stage leader Yazeed Al-Rajhi to guide his Toyota home in 3hrs 37mins 20secs.

The 47-year-old crossed the line 3mins 57secs ahead of Orlando Terranova who now heads the overall standings in his Mini.

The Argentinian, who was sixth in the opening stage, is almost five minutes ahead of fellow Mini driver Carlos Sainz.

Defending champion Nasser Al-Attiyah came in fifth on stage two and is six minutes off the lead while 13-time champion Stephane Peterhansel already trails by 13 minutes after a problem with his car's steering column.

On the motorcycles, Ross Branch won his first stage on the Dakar after a perfectly controlled day's riding.

The Botswanan finished 1min 24secs ahead of 2017 winner Sam Sunderland who now leads the bikes category, 1min 18secs ahead of Pablo Quintanilla.

On Tuesday, the rally heads out on a 489 km round trip which starts and ends in Neom.

Results of the Dakar Rally after Monday's stage 2 (401 kilometres) from Al Wajh to Neom:


1. Giniel de Villiers-Alex Haro (RSA-ESP/Toyota) 3hr 37min 20sec, 2. Orlando Terranova-Bernardo Graue (ARG-ARG/Mini) at 3min 57sec, 3. Khalid Al Qassimi-Xavier Panseri (UAE-FRA/Abu Dhabi Racing) 5:42, 4. Mathieu Serradori-Fabian Lurquin (FRA-BEL/SRT) 9:39, 5. Nasser Al-Attiyah-Matthieu Baumel (QAT-FRA/Toyota) 11:46, 6. Carlos Sainz-Lucas Cruz (ESP-ESP/Mini) 13:05, 7. Yazeed Al Rajhi-Konstantin Zhiltsov (KSA-RUS/Toyota) 13:31, 8. Yasir Seaidan-Alexy Kuzmich (KSA-RUS/Race World) 16:44, 9. Jerome Pelichet-Pascal Larroque (FRA/Raidlynx) 16:47, 10. Vaidotas Zala-Saulius Jurgelenas (LTU-LTU/Agrorodeo) 19:23

Overall standings (after stage 2)

1. Orlando Terranova-Bernardo Graue (ARG-ARG/Mini) 7hr 7min 36sec, 2. Carlos Sainz-Lucas Cruz (ESP-ESP/Mini) at 4:43, 3. Nasser Al-Attiyah-Matthieu Baumel (QAT-FRA/Toyota) 6:07, 4. Mathieu Serradori-Fabian Lurquin (FRA-BEL/SRT) 7:22, 5. Vaidotas Zala-Saulius Jurgelenas (LTU-LTU/Mini) 8:11, 6. Giniel de Villiers-Alex Haro (RSA-ESP/Toyota) 12:04, 7. Khalid Al Qassimi-Xavier Panseri (UAE-FRA/Abu Dhabi Racing) 12:35, 8. Stephane Peterhansel-Paulo Fiuza (FRA-POR/Mini) 13:17, 9. Yazeed Al Rajhi-Konstantin Zhiltsov (KSA-RUS/Toyota) 16:05, 10. Bernhard Ten Brinke-Tom Colsoul (NED-BEL/Toyota) 21:23


1. Ross Branch (BOT/KTM) 3hr 39min 10sec, 2. Sam Sutherland (GBR/KTM) at 1:24, 3. Pablo Quintanilla (CHI/Husqvarna) 2:21, 4. Kevin Benavides (ARG/Honda) 3:40, 5. Luciano Benavides (ARG/KTM) 3:44, 6. Joan Barreda Bort (ESP/Honda) 4:57, 7. Jose Ignacio Cornejo Florimo (CHI/Honda) 5:58 , 8. Matthias Walkner (AUT/KTM) 5:59, 9. Xavier de Soultrait (FRA/Yamaha) 6:08, 10. Andrew Short (USA/Husqvarna) 7:00

Overall standings (after stage 2)

1. Sam Sutherland (GBR/KTM) 7hr 05min 22sec, 2 Pablo Quintanilla (CHI/Husqvarna) at 1:18, 3. Kevin Benavides (ARG/Honda) 1:32, 4. Matthias Walkner (AUT/KTM) 2:00, 5. Ricky Brabec (USA/Honda) 4:11, 6. Ross Branch (BOT/KTM) 4:19, 7. Luciano Benavides (ARG/KTM) 6:01, 8. Joan Barreda Bort (ESP/Honda) 6:09, 9. Toby Price (AUS/KTM) 7:34, 10. Andrew Short (USA/Husqvarna) 9:24

Read more on:    dakar rally  |  giniel de villiers  |  rallying


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.