Rosberg cruises to victory at Spa

2016-08-28 17:00
Nico Rosberg (Getty Images)

Spa-Francorchamps - Nico Rosberg rekindled his bid for the drivers' world championship by steering his Mercedes to a convincing victory in Sunday's chaotic crash-hit Belgian Grand Prix, as Lewis Hamilton fought back to finish third.

Rosberg's delight was reduced by his Mercedes team-mate Hamilton's damage-limiting and thrilling drive to finish on the podium after starting from the back row of the grid.

Australian Daniel Ricciardo finished second in his Red Bull.

The 31-year-old Rosberg, who started from his third successive pole position, led from start to finish in a 44-laps race fractured by accidents and incidents to secure his first victory in Belgium and his sixth of the season.

Hamilton, who started 21st after being handed 60 grid position penalties for taking three new power-units through the weekend, remains narrowly ahead of Rosberg in the title race with 232 points to his 223.

German Nico Hulkenberg finished fourth ahead of his Force India team-mate Sergio Perez, as the Silverstone-based team overhauled rivals Williams in the constructors' championship.

Four-time world champion Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari recovered from a first-corner collision with his own team-mate Kimi Raikkonen to take sixth ahead of Fernando Alonso, who had started 22nd on the grid.

Valtteri Bottas was eighth for Williams ahead of Raikkonen and Brazilian Felipe Massa.

The race was halted in the early stages when Dane Kevin Magnussen crashed heavily, but he limped away from his wrecked Renault car with only a damaged ankle.

Results from the Formula One Belgian Grand Prix on Sunday:

1. Nico Rosberg (GER/Mercedes) 1hr 44min 51.058sec, 2. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/Red Bull) at 14.113sec, 3. Lewis Hamilton (GBR/Mercedes) 27.634sec, 4. Nico Hulkenberg (GER/Force India) 35.907sec, 5. Sergio Perez (MEX/Force India) 40.660sec, 6. Sebastian Vettel (GER/Ferrari) 45.394sec, 7. Fernando Alonso (ESP/McLaren-Honda) 59.445sec, 8. Valtteri Bottas (FIN/Williams) 1min 00.151sec, 9. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN/Ferrari) 1min 01.109sec, 10. Felipe Massa (BRA/Williams) 1min 05.873sec, 11. Max Verstappen (NED/Red Bull) 1min 11.138sec, 12. Esteban Gutierrez (MEX/Haas) 1min 13.877sec, 13. Romain Grosjean (FRA/Haas) 1min 16.474sec, 14. Daniil Kvyat (RUS/Toro Rosso) 1min 27.097sec, 15. Jolyon Palmer (GBR/Renault) 1min 33.165sec, 16. Esteban Ocon (FRA/Manor) 1 lap, 17. Felipe Nasr (BRA/Sauber) 1 lap

Overall Standings


1. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) 232 pts, 2. Nico Rosberg (GER) 223, 3. Daniel Riccardo (AUS) 151, 4. Sebastian Vettel (GER) 128, 5. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) 124, 6. Max Verstappen (NED) 115, 7. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) 62, 8. Sergio Perez (MEX) 58, 9. Nico Hulkenberg (GER) 45, 10. Felipe Massa (BRA) 39, 11. Fernando Alonso (ESP) 30, 12. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) 30, 13. Romain Grosjean (FRA) 28, 14. Daniil Kvyat (RUS) 23, 15. Jenson Button (GBR) 17, 16. Kevin Magnussen (DEN) 6, 17. Pascal Wehrlein (GER) 1, 18. Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL) 1


1. Mercedes 455 pts, 2. Red Bull 274, 3. Ferrari 252, 4. Force India 103, 5. Williams 101, 6. McLaren 48, 7. Toro Rosso 45, 8. Haas 28, 9. Renault 6, 10. Manor 1, 11. Sauber 0

Read more on:    belgian gp  |  nico rosberg  |  f1


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.