Revised Baku GP starting grid

2017-06-25 11:22

Cape Town - Penalties for both McLaren drivers and Carlos Sainz means the Baku grid, at least the lower half, looks somewhat different to the qualifying timesheets.

Sainz will start Sunday's grand prix in the Azerbaijan capital from 15th place on the grid after incurring a three-place penalty for causing a collision at the previous race in Montreal.

The Spaniard has a 40-place penalty for changing power unit elements

The grid
1 Lewis Hamilton
2 Valtteri Bottas
3 Kimi Räikkönen
4 Sebastian Vettel
5 Max Verstappen
6 Sergio Perez
7 Esteban Ocon
8 Lance Stroll
9 Felipe Massa
10 Daniel Ricciardo
11 Daniil Kvyat
12 Kevin Magnussen
13 Nico Hulkenberg
14 Pascal Wehrlein
15 Carlos Sainz *
16 Romain Grosjean
17 Marcus Ericsson
18 Stoffel Vandoorne **
19 Fernando Alonso ***
20 Jolyon Palmer

* three grid places for causing a collision at the previous round.
** 35 places for use of additional power unit elements and an unscheduled gearbox change.
*** 40 places for use of additional power unit elements


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.