Raikkonen on pole for Ferrari, Vettel second

2017-05-27 15:43
Kimi Raikkonen (AFP)

Monaco - Kimi Raikkonen secured his first pole position for nine years on Saturday when he outpaced his Ferrari team-mate Sebastian Vettel in a dramatic qualifying session for Sunday's Monaco Grand Prix.

The 37-year-old Finn, who had not taken pole position for 128 races stretching back to the French Grand Prix of 2008, dominated the afternoon's action to clock a fastest lap of one minute and 12.178 seconds. 

That left him 0.043 seconds ahead of the world championship leader and three-time champion Vettel who in turn was just two-thousandths of a second faster than third placed Valtteri Bottas of Mercedes.

The Finn's Mercedes team-mate Briton Lewis Hamilton failed to make progress from Q2 and missed the cut for the top ten shootout, qualifying 14th after a miserable afternoon. 

"Obviously, it's great," said a mumbling and softly-spoken Raikkonen afterwards, showing little emotion. "We'll try to make the best of it tomorrow (Sunday)... Yes, of course it is good, but here it is all about the fine details."

Dutch teenager Max Verstappen took fourth place ahead of his Red Bull team-mate Australian Daniel Ricciardo, Spaniard Carlos Sainz of Toro Rosso, Mexican Sergio Perez of Force India and Frenhcman Romain Grosjean of Haas. 

Briton Jenson Button, back from retirement to replace two-time champion Spaniard Fernando Alonso who is racing in the Indianapolis 500, was ninth for McLaren Honda ahead of his team-mate Belgian Stoffel Vandoorne. 

Button has a 15-place grid penalty for engine replacements and that is expected to lift Hamilton up to 13th. 

"I don't know what was wrong there," said Vettel of Mercedes' problems. "But this is one of the highlights of the season - to race at Monaco. It is a difficult one to get right, but if you do, it is great."

Bottas said: "It was a really good lap for me. This is one of the most mentally-demanding circuits and I have felt support from the fans and appreciate it." 

On a perfect azure afternoon, with an air temperature of 27 degrees and a track reading of 53, Q1 delivered few surprises other than the early exit of Frenchman Esteban Ocon of Force India, who had crashed at Casino Square in the closing minutes of the morning's final practice session. 

The Q2 session began with the two Finns Bottas and Raikkonen on track swiftly followed by the title contenders Vettel and Hamilton, who survived a big 'moment' at the top of the hill en route to Casino Square. 

It proved costly for Hamilton whose first flying lap was more than a second adrift of Raikkonen's early fastest. "No grip, Bono," said Hamilton, talking to his engineer before he was stopped at the weighbridge on his way to Mercedes' pits. 

By then, Raikkonen had clocked a 1:12.231 to leap half a second clear of Verstappen at the front until Vettel slotted into second on his second run. 

In his haste, Hamilton weaved to heat his tyres and then had a major slide at the exit of Casino Square before he locked up at Mirabeau. "Something wrong with the car," he reported. 

With just seconds remaining, Hamilton's hopes were ruined when Belgian Stoffel Vandoorne went into the barriers at the Swimming Pool exit, yellow flags flying. 

"That's me out, right?" said Hamilton, deprived of a clean lap and condemned to qualify 14th, one of five men eliminated along with Russian Daniil Kvyat of Toro Rosso, German Nico Hulkenberg of Renault, Dane Kevin Magnussen of Haas and Brazilian Felipe Massa of Williams. 

"Yes, toasted," came the reply for Hamilton as he pulled in to the pits, his chest heaving and hands waving with frustration.

Starting grid:

1. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari

2. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari

3. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Mercedes

4. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Red Bull - TAG Heuer

5. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull - TAG Heuer

6. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso - Renault

7. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India - Mercedes

8. Romain Grosjean (France) Haas - Ferrari

9. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso - Renault

10. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Renault

11. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) Haas - Ferrari

12. Stoffel Vandoorne (Belgium) McLaren

13. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes

14. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes

15. Esteban Ocon (France) Force India - Mercedes

16. Jolyon Palmer (Britain) Renault

17. Lance Stroll (Canada) Williams-Mercedes

18. Pascal Wehrlein (Germany) Sauber - Ferrari

19. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber - Ferrari

20. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren

Read more on:    kimi raikkonen  |  motorsport


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.