Qatar's al-Attiyah wins third Dakar Rally title

2019-01-17 18:16
Nasser al-Attiyah
Nasser al-Attiyah (AP)

Lima - Qatar's Nasser al-Attiyah cruised to his third Dakar Rally title on Thursday with a 46-minute cushion over second-placed Nani Roma at the end of the world's toughest rally in Lima.

An Olympic medallist in shooting at the 2012 London Games, al-Attiyah had enough in hand to avoid taking any risks in his Toyota on the 10th and final stage from Pisco to the Peruvian capital, crossing the line a sedate 12th behind Carlos Sainz, the 2018 champion.

"Everybody wants to win the Dakar. But we felt when we came that in Peru, a 100-percent Peru rally, with no other country, there would be a lot of sand dunes, so we could do what we know we're good at," said al-Attiyah.

France's former nine-time world rally champion Sebastien Loeb took third in the overall standings, almost two hours behind the Qatari whose previous wins came in 2011 and 2015.

Al-Attiyah laid down his marker for 2019 honours when rising to the top of the time sheets after the first stage.

And after winning his third stage of this year's event on Wednesday for his 34th career stage win the title was his, barring final-day disaster.

"It's fantastic," added the 48-year-old Qatari. "No mistakes during the entire rally. It was a very, very difficult rally for everybody. 

"The good thing was that from day three we were leading and we built on our time everyday until we came to the last day with a big, big lead."

Stephane Peterhansel, a 13-time Dakar Rally champion, had to quit the race early on Wednesday's penultimate stage when sitting fourth overall.

Toby Price clinched his second Dakar bikes title, the Australian following up his 2016 crown with success in the 10th and final stage.

The KTM rider seized overall command of the bikes category on Tuesday and after crossing the finish line in Lima he took the 2019 honours by over nine minutes from his teammate and defending champion Matthias Walkner.

Price wrapped up his second title in style, taking the closing stage from Pisco to the Peruvian capital with a near two-and-a-half minute advantage over Chilean rider Jose Cornejo.

Victory was achieved despite Price having suffered a broken bone in his wrist.

"I'm so damned stoked. It's been a long 10 days. Now I'll just wait and see what damage I've done to my wrist," said 31-year-old Price.

"The pain and torture has been worth it. I thought I would only be able to do two stages and then pull out and that would have been me done, but the support from everyone back home in Australia and then having some things go my way and a bit of luck, it just worked out in the end.

"Pretty much all I can say is that it feels like there are about five people driving a knife in my wrist now."

This was an 18th consecutive bikes title for Austrian bike manufacturer KTM.

Dakar Rally 2019 results:


1. Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT)/Mathieu Baumel (FRA) Toyota 34h38m14s

2. Nani Roma (ESP)/Alex Haro Bravo (ESP) Mini Rally +46m42s?

3. Sébastien Loeb (FRA)/Daniel Elena (MON) Peugeot +01h54m18s?

4. Kuba Przygonski (POL)/Tom Colsoul (BEL) Mini Rally +02h28m31s

5. Cyril Despres (FRA)/Jean-Paul Cottret (FRA) Mini Buggy +02h48m43s


9. Giniel De Villiers (ZAF)/Dirk Von Zitzewitz (DEU) Toyota +07h59m16s?

13. Carlos Sainz (ESP)/ Lucas Cruz (ESP) Mini Buggy +09h51m46s


1. Toby Price (AUS) KTM  33h57m16s

2. Matthias Walkner (AUT) KTM +09m13s

3. Sam Sunderland (GBR) KTM +13m34s?

4. Pablo Quintanilla (CHI) Husqvarna +20m46s

5. Andrew Short (USA) Husqvarna +44m10s


1. Eduard Nikolaev (RUS) Kamaz 41h01m35s

2. Dmitry Sotnikov (RUS) Kamaz +25m36s?

3. Gerard De Rooy (NDL) Iveco +01h34m44s?

4. Federico Villagra (ARG) Iveco +05h49m08s

5. Ales Loprais (CZE) Tatra +05h59m51s?


1. Chaleco Lopez (CHI) Can-Am 42h19m05s

2. Gerard Farres Guell (ESP) Can-Am +01h02m35s?

3. Reinaldo Varela (BRA) Can-Am +01h05m19s?

4. Casey Currie (USA) Can-Am +02h32m51s?

5. RJ Moreno Piazzoli (CHI) Can-Am +03h10m25s


1. Nicolas Cavigliasso (ARG) Yamaha 43h01m54s

?2. Jeremias Gonzalez Ferioli (ARG) Yamaha +01h55m37s?

3. Gustavo Gallego (ARG) Yamaha +02h11m48s?

4. Alexandre Giroud (FRA) Yamaha +04h02m41s

5. Manuel Andujar (ARG) Yamaha +06h38m10s

Read more on:    nasser al-attiyah  |  dakar rally


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.