Pedrosa wins as Spanish reign at Jerez

2017-05-07 15:43
Dani Pedrosa (AFP)

Jerez de la Frontera - Honda's Dani Pedrosa led from pole to flag to claim a dominant victory at the Spanish Moto GP on Sunday ahead of Marc Marquez as Spanish riders cleaned up at Jerez.

Pedrosa clocked 45min 26.827sec for his first win on Spanish soil since he won on the same track in 2013. It was the 31-year-old's 30th MotoGP win.

"It was an extremely hard race to be calm. I wanted to go faster but maybe the track condition was not there," said Pedrosa.

"I wasn't really riding very comfortably so I had to be very concentrated. In the end I was able to control my pace and manage my lap times."

Fellow Honda rider Marquez pushed hard throughout the 27 laps around the sun-kissed circuit, but had to settle with second, at 6.1sec. Jorge Lorenzo, on a Ducati, rounded out the podium to make it an all-Spanish top three.

"Honestly I was pushing and trying to stay with him," said Marquez, whose younger brother Alex won the Moto2 earlier in the day.

"Second place was a really good position here."

Lorenzo dubbed his third place "like a victory". "I'm very proud, very happy... It's such a difficult bike."

Championship leader Valentino Rossi, seeking a 10th world title, could only manage 10th position, more than 38sec off Pedrosa's winning pace.

But the Italian, with 62 points, kept his place atop the standings, two ahead of Yamaha teammate Maverick Vinales, with Marquez (58) in third and Pedrosa fourth (52).

Alex Marquez, riding a Kalex, made the most of a fall by championship leader Franco Morbidelli to notch up his first win in the Moto2 category.

The Spaniard timed 43min 24.350sec, finishing more than 3sec ahead of Italian Francesco Bagnaia, also on a Kalex, with Portugal's Miguel Oliveira (KTM) completing the podium.

And another Spanish rider, Aron Canet, left it late to secure his maiden victory in the Moto3 race.

Canet, riding a Honda, soared into the lead on the final turn to take the chequered flag in 41min 25.706sec and finish a whisker ahead of Italian Romano Fenati, with Spaniard Joan Mir in third.



1. Dani Pedrosa (ESP/Honda) 45min 26.827sec, 2. Marc Marquez (ESP/Honda) at 6.136sec, 3. Jorge Lorenzo (ESP/Ducati) 14.767, 4. Johann Zarco (FRA/Yamaha Tech3) 17.601, 5. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA/Ducati) 22.913, 6. Maverick Vinales (ESP/Yamaha) 24.556, 7. Danilo Petrucci (ITA/Ducati) 24.959, 8. Jonas Folger (GER/Tech3) 27.721, 9. Aleix Espargaro (ESP/Ducati) 31.233, 10. Valentino Rossi (ITA/Yamaha) 38.682


1. Alex Marquez (ESP/Kalex) 43min 24.350sec, 2. Francesco Bagnaia (ITA/Kalex) at 3.442sec, 3. Miguel Oliveira (POR/KTM) 4.958, 4. Mattia Pasini (ITA/Kalex) 6.824, 5. Luca Marini (ITA/Kalex) 6.917, 6. Marcel Schrotter (GER/Suter) 9.561, 7. Dominique Aergerter (SUI/Suter) 10.266, 8. Thomas Luthi (SUI/Kalex) 11.594, 9. Yonny Hernandez (COL/Kalex) 19.212, 10. Axel Pons (ESP/Kalex) 19.293


1. Aron Canet (ESP/Honda) 41min 25.706sec, 2. Romano Fenati (ITA/Honda) at 0.031sec, 3. Joan Mir (ESP/Honda) 0.155, 4. Marcos Ramirez (ESP/KTM) 0.358, 5. Fabio di Giannantonio (ITA/Honda) 0.946, 6. Andrea Migno (ITA/KTM) 1.162, 7. Nicolo Bulega (ITA/KTM) 1.417, 8. Enea Bastianini (ITA/Honda) 1.456, 9. Jorge Martin (ESP/Honda) 1.961, 10. Juanfran Guevara (ESP/KTM) 2.000

World championship riders' standings


1. Valentino Rossi (ITA/Yamaha) 62 points, 2. Maverick Vinales (ESP/Yamaha) 60, 3. Marc Marquez (ESP/Honda) 58, 4. Dani Pedrosa (ESP/Honda) 52, 5. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA/Ducati) 41, 6. Johann Zarco (FRA/Yamaha Tech3) 35, 7. Cal Crutchlow (GBR/Honda LCR) 29, 8. Jonas Folger (GER/Yamaha Tech3) 29, 9. Jorge Lorenzo (ESP/Ducati) 28, 10. Danilo Petrucci (ITA/Ducati) 26


1. Franco Morbidelli (ITA/Kalex) 75 pts, 2. Thomas Luthi (SUI/Kalex) 64, 3. Miguel Oliveira (POR/KTM) 59, 4. Alex Marquez (ESP/Kalex) 49, 5. Franceso Bagnaia (ITA/Kalex) 33, 6. Takaaki Nakagami (JPN/Kalex) 32, 7. Luca Marini (ITA/Kalex) 31, 8. Dominique Aergerter (SUI/Suter) 27, 9. Lorenzo Baldassari (ITA/Kalex) 26, 10. Xavi Vierge (ESP/Tech3) 25


1. Joan Mir (ESP/Honda) 74 pts, 2. Romano Fenati (ITA/Honda) 65, 3. Jorge Martin (ESP/Honda) 59, 4. John McPhee (GBR/Honda) 49, 5. Aron Canet (ESP/Honda) 43, 6. Fabio di Giannantonio (ITA/Honda) 35, 7. Andrea Migno (ITA/KTM) 35, 8. Marcos Ramirez (ESP/KTM) 23, 9. Juanfran Guevara (ESP/KTM) 23, 10. Nicolo Bulega (ITA/KTM) 22

Read more on:    dani pedrosa  |  motogp


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.