'Mr Dakar' wins stage 4 as Sainz keeps the lead in Saudi

2020-01-08 17:48
Stephane Peterhansel
Stephane Peterhansel (AP)

Al-Ula - Frenchman Stephane Peterhansel, otherwise known as Mr Dakar for his 13 victories in the marathon rally, clocked his first stage win of the 2020 race during Wednesday's 672 kilometre charge from Neom to Al Ula.

Peterhansel and his Portuguese navigator Paulo Fiuza threw their Mini across the rocks and sand that made up the greater part of the 453k special which also ran close to the historic Nabatean temples, to finish stage four in 4hr 14min 34sec.

At one point they made a wrong turn which cut away some of their lead but they still came home 2min 26sec ahead of defending champion Nasser Al-Attiyah in his Toyota.

It was a defiant response from the Qatari who began the day with a three-minute penalty for not letting a rival through on stage three.

"It feels good after all that trouble in the first few days, even though we had a flat tyre and got lost once," said Peterhansel.

"It wasn't a flawless special, but it feels great to take the win.

"There were more stones than expected and the final 60 kilometres were really difficult."

Overall leader Carlos Sainz, who pulled out a stunning drive to win on Tuesday, finished third more than seven minutes behind Peterhansel.

The Spaniard retains the overall lead and is 3:03 ahead of Al-Attiyah and 11:42 in front of Peterhansel.

"Leading the charge was hard and Carlos lost some time, but he did an amazing job because it didn't take him long to get back on track," said Peterhansel.

Former Formula One world champion Fernando Alonso couldn't reproduce his great drive on stage three, finishing 26 minutes behind Peterhansel who gave a ringing endorsement of the new Saudi setting for the race.

"This new Dakar is brilliant," said the Frenchman. "It has all the ingredients -- superb landscapes, tricky navigation and enough difficulties to make a selection.

"The organisers have been perfect so far."

Chilean Jose Ignacio Cornejo Florimo won the bikes category and is third in the overall standings, 8:31 behind his American Honda teammate Ricky Brabec.

Results of the Dakar Rally after Wednesday's stage 4 (453 kilometres) between Neom and Al Ula, Saudi Arabia:


1. Stephane Peterhansel/Paulo Fiuza (FRA/POR/Mini) 4hr 04min 34sec, 2. Nasser Al-Attiyah/Matthieu Baumel (QAT/FRA/Toyota) at 2:26, 3. Carlos Sainz/Lucas Cruz (ESP/ESP/Mini) 7:18, 4. Yazeed Al Rajhi/Konstantin Zhiltsov (KSA/RUS/Toyota) 11:30, 5. Mathieu Serradori/Fabian Lurquin (FRA/BEL/Century) 13:17, 6. Giniel De Villiers/Alex Haro Bravo (RSA/ESP/Toyota) 18:16, 7. Bernhard Ten Brinke/Tom Colsoul (NED/BEL/Toyota) 18:35, 8. Jakub Przygonski/Timo Gottschalk (POL/GER/Mini) 19:23, 9. Wei Han/Min Liao (CHN/CHN/2wd) 19:58, 10. Orlando Terranova/Bernardo Graue (ARG/ARG/Mini) 22:22

Overall standings after stage 4

1. Carlos Sainz/Lucas Cruz (ESP/ESP/Mini) 15hr 12min 12sec, 2. Nasser Al-Attiyah/Matthieu Baumel (QAT/FRA/Toyota) at 3:03 (penalty: 3:00), 3. Stephane Peterhansel/Paulo Fiuza (FRA/POR/Mini) 11:42, 4. Yazeed Al Rajhi/Konstantin Zhiltsov (KSA/RUS/Toyota) 23:10 (penalty: 2:00), 5. Orlando Terranova/Bernardo Graue (ARG/ARG/Mini) 23:13, 6. Mathieu Serradori/Fabian Lurquin (FRA/BEL/Century) 26:55 (penalty: 2:00), 7. Giniel De Villiers/Alex Haro Bravo (RSA/ESP/Toyota) 34:40, 8. Bernhard Ten Brinke/Tom Colsoul (NED/BEL/Toyota) 44:40, 9. Martin Prokop/Viktor Chytka (CZE/CZE/Ford) 1h 09:41, 10. Yasir Seaidan/Kuzmich Alexy (KSA/RUS/Mini) 1h 30:25


1. Jose Ignacio Cornejo Florimo (CHI/Honda) 4hr 24min 51sec, 2. Kevin Benavides (ARG/Honda) at 35sec, 3. Ross Branch (BOT/Ktm) 55sec, 4. Paulo Goncalves (POR/Hero) 2:11, 5. Ricky Brabec (USA/Honda) 2:48, 6. Toby Price (AUS/Ktm) 2:59, 7. Johnny Aubert (FRA/Sherco Tvs) 3:52, 8. Sam Sunderland (GBR/Ktm) 4:49 (penalty: 5:00), 9. Skyler Howes (USA/Husqvarna) 4:52, 10. Lorenzo Santolino (ESP/Sherco Tvs) 6:24

Overall standings after stage 4

1. Ricky Brabec (USA/Honda) 15hr 06min 43sec, 2. Kevin Benavides (ARG/Honda) at 2:30, 3. Jose Ignacio Cornejo Florimo (CHI/Honda) 8:31 (penalty: 1:00), 4. Toby Price (AUS/Ktm) 12:09 (penalty: 2:00), 5. Pablo Quintanilla (CHI/Husqvarna) 17:52, 6. Sam Sunderland (GBR/Ktm) 19:11 (penalty: 5:00), 7. Joan Barreda Bort (ESP/Honda) 25:20, 8. Luciano Benavides (ARG/Ktm) 26:30, 9. Matthias Walkner (AUT/Ktm) 27:03, 10. Skyler Howes (USA/Husqvarna) 34:28


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.