Marquez takes pole for Aragon MotoGP

2019-09-21 16:16
Marc Marquez
Marc Marquez (Getty Images)

Alcaiz - Marc Marquez is a red-hot favourite to win the Aragon MotoGP after roaring to pole position for his home Grand Prix on Saturday where the Spaniard will renew his struggle with French tyro Fabio Quartararo on the front row, with Maverick Vinales third.

Reigning world champion Marquez has won at Aragon for the past three seasons and the 26-year-old set a blistering pace in qualifying before taking pole, 0.327 ahead of Quartararo.

Last week, Marquez ghosted along just behind Quartararo for 18 laps at the San Marino GP before finally springing past the Yamaha youngster on the last lap to clinch a captivating win.

It was his seventh victory of the season and Marquez explained he had been determined not to come second again after being pipped on the line in the previous two races at Silverstone and the Dutch GP.

On Sunday, fans at the 5.077km Aragon circuit, just 160km from Honda rider Marquez's hometown Cervera, can anticipate another mouth-watering duel between the pair.

"Fabio is ready to win a race and, starting next year, fight for the championship," Marquez said after last week's race.

Quartararo said he was surprised by his last-ditch qualification for the front row.

"I said to myself I either fall or get on the front row, I didn't think I'd be that fast though," he said of his time on the damp track.

Also on the front row is in-form Spaniard Vinales, who started San Marino on pole and came third.

In the current world standings, Marquez leads Andrea Dovizioso of Ducati by 93 points with six races left to run. The off-colour Italian however placed 10th in qualifying on his Ducati on Saturday.

Starting grids for Sunday's Aragon motorcycling Grand Prix, the 14th leg (of 19) of the championship at the Motorland circuit:


1st row

1. Marc Marquez (ESP/Honda)

2. Fabio Quartararo (FRA/Yamaha-SRT)

3. Maverick Vinales (ESP/Yamaha)

2nd row

4. Jack Miller (AUS/Ducati-Pramac)

5. Aleix Espargaro (ESP/Aprilia)

6. Valentino Rossi (ITA/Yamaha)

3rd row

7. Cal Crutchlow (GBR/Honda-LCR)

8. Franco Morbidelli (ITA/Yamaha-SRT)

9. Joan Mir (ESP/Suzuki)

4th row

10. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA/Ducati)

11. Andrea Iannone (ITA/Aprilia)

12. Pol Espargaro (ESP/KTM)


1st row

1. Alex Marquez (ESP/Kalex)

2. Augusto Fernandez (ESP/Kalex)

3. Brad Binder (AFS/KTM)

2nd row

4. Luca Marini (ITA/Kalex)

5. Thomas Lthi (SUI/Kalex)

6. Jorge Navarro (ESP/SpeedUp)

3rd row

7. Xavi Vierge (ESP/Kalex)

8. Nicolo Bulega (ITA/Kalex)

9. Sam Lowes (GBR/Kalex)


1st row

1. Aron Canet (ESP/KTM)

2. Ai Ogura (JPN/Honda)

3. Carlos Tatay (ESP/KTM)

2nd row

4. Jakub Kornfeil (TCH/KTM)

5. Celestino Vietti (ITA/KTM)

6. Alonso Lopez (ESP/Honda)

3rd row

7. Tony Arbolino (ESP/Honda)

8. Tatsuki Suzuki (JPN/Honda)

9. John McPhee (GBR/Honda)

Read more on:    marc marquez  |  motogp


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.