Japan's Takuma Sato wins Indy 500

2017-05-29 06:43
Takuma Sato (Reuters)

Indianapolis - When the moment came, Takuma Sato seized it, and was rewarded with one of auto racing's grandest prizes.

Sato became the first Japanese driver to win the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday, holding off three-time winner Helio Castroneves of Brazil to do it.

Sato had toiled for two weeks at Indianapolis in the shadow of temporary Andretti Autosport team-mate Fernando Alonso - the two-time Formula One world champion taking time out from the Grand Prix circuit to try his luck at Indy.

But he emerged with a fearless finish made all the more impressive by the memory of 2012, when his last-lap attempt to grab the lead from Dario Franchitti ended with the Japanese driver in the wall.

"I knew I could do it but I was waiting for the moment and the last few laps there was a moment," said Sato, who snatched the lead from Castroneves with five laps remaining after both had worked their way past Briton Max Chilton.

Then it was up to Sato - winner of just one prior IndyCar race - to keep Castroneves behind him.

"I know Helio is always coming on charge," Sato said. "But he's just such a gentleman, such a fair player. I believe in him.

"We go side-by-side turn one. It was job done.

"The last two laps, the car worked beautifully. I just cannot thank enough everyone who supported me."

Castroneves, trying to become just the fourth driver to win the Indianapolis 500 four times, said he just couldn't find an answer to Sato.

"I did everything I could, trust me, everything I could," the Penske driver said.

Team chief Michael Andretti said Sato had put himself on the path to victory long before the dramatic duel at the finish.

"We had the right guy doing it, for sure," said Andretti, who had six entrants in the race.

"He drove a superb race. There's many times where he was in a difficult situation, and he would get out of the situation. He showed a lot of patience.

"But then when he had to go, he went. There was one move where he passed two cars on the outside in one, which was a very important move, because that gave him the track position of the top two guys in front of him. That was one of the moves of the race, in my opinion.

"When I saw that, I'm like, 'Whoa, I think we're going to win this thing.'"

Sato became the fifth different driver to win the Indy 500 for Andretti.

The team's Honda engines showed superior speed throughout practice and qualifying, but they also showed a maddening propensity to fail.

It was a blown engine that brought Alonso's race to an end on the 179th lap, and Honda's engine woes also ended the day for Ryan Hunter-Reay and Charlie Kimball.

Amid those struggles for the Japanese manufacturer, Andretti was delighted to see a Japanese driver deliver a win for them.

"Taku did an awesome job," Andretti said. "I'm so happy for him. Really happy for Honda. They worked really hard to get us here."

Results on Sunday in the 101st Indianapolis 500:

1. Takuma Sato (JPN/Andretti) 3:13:03 (average speed: 155.39 mph, 250.08 km/h)

2. Helio Castroneves (BRA/Penske) at 0.2011sec

3. Ed Jones (UAE/Dale Coyne) at 0.5278

4. Max Chilton (GBR/Chip Ganassi) at 1.1365

5. Tony Kanaan (BRA/Chip Ganassi) at 1.6472

6. Juan Pablo Montoya (COL/Penske) at 1.7154

7. Alexander Rossi (USA/Andretti Herta) at 2.4222

8. Marco Andretti (USA/Andretti) at 2.5410

9. Gabby Chaves (COL/Harding) at 3.8311

10. Carlos Munoz (COL/A.J. Foyt) at 4.5319

11. Ed Carpenter (USA/Ed Carpenter) at 4.6228

12. Graham Rahal (USA/Rahal Letterman Lanigan) at 5.0310

13. Mikhail Aleshin (RUS/Schmidt Peterson) at 5.6993

14. Simon Pagenaud (FRA/Penske) at 6.0513

15. Sebastian Saavedra (COL/Juncos) at 12.6668

16. J.R. Hildebrand (USA/Ed Carpenter) at 33.2191

17. Pippa Mann (GBR/Dale Coyne) at 1 lap

18. Spencer Pigot (USA/Juncos) at 6 laps

19. Josef Newgarden (USA/Penske) at 14 laps

Selected others:

23. Will Power (AUS/Penske) at 12 laps (not running, accident)

24. Fernando Alonso (ESP/McLaren-Andretti) at 21 laps (not running, engine failure)

27. Ryan Hunter-Reay (USA/Andretti) at 64 laps (not running, engine failure)

32. Scott Dixon (NZL/Chip Ganassi) at 148 laps (not running, accident)

Read more on:    indy 500  |  motorsport

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.