Vettel storms to Bahrain win

2013-04-21 15:45
Sebastian Vettel (File)
Manama - Defending triple world champion Sebastian Vettel extended his lead in this year's title race on Sunday when he claimed an impressive victory for Red Bull in an incident-filled Bahrain Grand Prix.

It was the 25-year-old German's second win in four races this year and the 28th of his career.

It saw him pass Jackie Stewart into sixth in the all-time Grand Prix winning list.

Starting second, Vettel took the lead on lap three and then controlled the 57-laps race as he came home 9.1 seconds clear of nearest rival and 2007 champion Finn Kimi Raikkonen of Lotus.

Frenchman Romain Grosjean finished third in the second Lotus, as the Renault powered team made the best of excellent tyre conservation.

It was the same podium finish as last year's race.

Grosjean denied fourth placed Briton Paul di Resta of Force India his first ever top three finish.

Briton Lewis Hamilton, the 2008 champion, fought hard to finish fifth for Mercedes after a late battle with Australian Mark Webber who came home seventh in the second Red Bull, Mexican Sergio Perez smashing his way to sixth for McLaren.

Two time champion Spaniard Fernando Alonso, who lost the use of his DRS on his Ferrari, came in eighth ahead of pole starting Finn Keke Rosberg in the second McLaren.

Like many, Rosberg struggled with serious rear tyre wear. Briton Jenson Button, champion in 2009, finished 10th for McLaren after several clashes with his own team-mate Perez.

Results from Bahrain Formula One Grand Prix on Sunday:

1. Sebastian Vettel (GER/Red Bull) (308,238 km - 1h36:00.498)
2. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN/Lotus) at 9.111sec
3. Romain Grosjean (FRA/Lotus) 19.507
4. Paul di Resta (GBR/Force India) 21.727
5. Lewis Hamilton (GBR/Mercedes) 35.230
6. Sergio Perez (MEX/McLaren) 35.998
7. Mark Webber (AUS/Red Bull Racing) 37.244
8. Fernando Alonso (ESP/Ferrari) 37.574
9. Nico Rosberg (GER/Mercedes) 41.126
10. Jenson Button (GBR/McLaren) 46.631
11. Pastor Maldonado (VEN/Williams) 1min 06.450sec
12. Nico Hlkenberg (GER/Sauber) 1:12.933
13. Adrian Sutil (GER/Force India) 1:16.719
14. Valtteri Bottas (FIN/Williams) 1:21.511
15. Felipe Massa (BRA/Ferrari) 1:26.364
16. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/Toro Rosso) 1 lap
17. Charles Pic (FRA/Caterham) 1 lap
18. Esteban Gutierrez (MEX/Sauber) 1 lap
19. Jules Bianchi (FRA/Marussia) 1 lap
20. Max Chilton (GBR/Marussia) 1 lap
21. Giedo van der Garde (NED/Caterham) 2 laps

Did not finish:

Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA/Toro Rosso)

Read more on:    formula one  |  sebastian vettel  |  motorsport

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.